choochoojerry

Newb seeking Programming help

Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:03 pm

I am a total newb & have been told that I can use a Raspberry Pi to program an Arduino board & beginners projects. When I say newb I am only itno this 4 days now but I am fascinated by this whole thing. The only computer I have is a Google Chrome Laptop W/Chrome OS. I have looked thru the Raspberry Pi store & it looks like I can buy what I need to do it, but I am not sure what to buy. If this can be done can some one help me as to what I need. I am a model railroader & would look to put what I learn to use on my model railroad.
I am going to start off building the very basic beginners projects from Arduino and go from there. If I find I can understand what I am doing I would then purchases a computer W/Windows 10 for programming if I needed it. :o :D

Thanks
Choochoo

bensimmo

Re: Newb seeking Programming help

Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:19 pm

The Pi can be your computer, it can also be a lot of your Arduino.

But they can also work together.

The Pi itself can control LEDs, react to switches, triggered relays, etc.
And also be you display, camera feed etc.

What sort of things are you wanting to control.

Have a quick look when you type
raspberry pi railway
Into Google

choochoojerry

Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:03 pm

Thank You for getting back bensimmo. Right now I am not looking to control anything. All I want to do is to start building some beginner things from Arduino or who ever. I have been watching a You Tube that Arduino put up, it is with a guy named Mossimo also my one of my grandsons name (so how bad could this be) & it got me hooked and I want to start to build some of those Beginner projects to get familiar with this whole thing . I really know absolutely nothing about this entire platform. 1st I heard about it was 4 days ago on a model RR forum I belong to.