smithjames0
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:04 pm

Wifi query

Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:06 pm

Hi,

I have a problem with my WIFI going to sleep, I have googled it endlessly but what every I try, fails. I did have it working up till a week ago when I got a new router, I (for some reason) wiped the interfaces file and started a fresh, since then the problem is simple the WIFI goes to sleep :roll:
I have also tried to have a static IP but thats not working either.

My raspberry is running Wheezy, Headless.

My interfaces file

Code: Select all

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet dhcp
wireless-power off

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
address 192.168.1.6
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1

#allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp
My wpa_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1


network={
        ssid="SomeID"
        psk="Somepassword"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=CCMP
        auth_alg=OPEN
}
I have tried this
/etc/modprobe.d/8192cu.conf

Code: Select all

options 8192cu rtw_power_mgnt=0 rtw_enusbss=0 rtw_ips_mode=1
After I restart the raspberry the router see it and it gets two IP's the 227 is the one I use to SSH, the 6 is the one I tried to fix it too.

Code: Select all

raspberrypi	192.168.1.227 192.168.1.6
Can anyone help, or at least point me in the right direction!

Regards
James

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40523
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Wifi query

Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:37 pm

smithjames0 wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:06 pm

My raspberry is running Wheezy, Headless.
Why?

Wheezy died two years & two months ago.
Jessie retired two months ago.

The supported Raspbian version is Stretch.
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

User avatar
Ronaldlees
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:28 pm
Location: North Carolina, US
Contact: Website

Re: Wifi query

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:42 pm

Yeah - Wheezy is a bit long in the tooth. I no longer run it even on x86 platforms. Perhaps there have been improvements to the driver since then, or to the power saving code.

Some other people have reported the same problem as you, and have indicated that the "fix" didn't work for them. Some of them are reporting success with the reloading of the driver to get around the issue:

modprobe -r 8192cu
modprobe 8192cu

They're putting this into a script, along with some checks to see if the wlan0 is up, and then to make sure it is up again, and running that as a periodic cron job. But, as DougieLawson mentions, it might be prudent to update your system instead of band-aiding the problem :-)
I am the Umbrella man

smithjames0
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:04 pm

Re: Wifi query

Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:49 pm

Thanks for the replys, the raspberry lives at the bottom of the garden controlling the chicken coop door, so while it's been working fine I have left it. I will have a look at the drivers.


Thanks

James

User avatar
DidierAubin87
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:44 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: Wifi query

Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:58 am

Ronaldlees wrote:
Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:42 pm
Yeah - Wheezy is a bit long in the tooth. I no longer run it even on x86 platforms. Perhaps there have been improvements to the driver since then, or to the power saving code.

Some other people have reported the same problem as you, and have indicated that the "fix" didn't work for them. Some of them are reporting success with the reloading of the driver to get around the issue:

modprobe -r 8192cu
modprobe 8192cu

They're putting this into a script, along with some checks to see if the wlan0 is up, and then to make sure it is up again, and running that as a periodic cron job. But, as DougieLawson mentions, it might be prudent to update your system instead of band-aiding the problem :-)
Just wanna say thanks for supporting. I'm the newbie so it is very useful to me.

Return to “Beginners”