marekpi

Pi 3 painfully slow (Raspbian)

Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:41 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Pi although I've used Linux for many years. Just got a Pi 3 and it's painfully slow... Even web browsing is sooo slow. Does it need any setup?
It shouldn't be that bad even with 1gb of ram.. I'm running latest Raspbian.

Any advice appreciated.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: Pi 3 painfully slow (Raspbian)

Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:58 pm

Browsing can be a pain if you open too many tabs - modern web browsers are very memory hungry.

What other things appear slow?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

W. H. Heydt

Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:20 pm

It may have more to do with what you're used to and what your expectations are. I've found that Pis (all the way back to the Model B with 256MB of RAM) have acceptable performance for the tasks I use them for. However, I have never expected a Pi run like a 2.5+GHz x86-64 system.

rpdom

Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:44 pm

The description of a Pi 3B is that it can be an "entry level desktop" system. Many people assume that means it can perform as well as a basic Windows PC that you can get from your high street PC vendor. That is not what it means.

k-pi

Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:56 pm

It's not your RPI3, it's the web browser, modern ones use up all the resources, when online, only open one or at most two tabs, else it'll be like waiting for paint to dry. ;)

steveb4pi

Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:24 am

B3 = 'entry level' ???? .. well. yes if we are speaking of Tablets and smart phones (or the dawn of Windows)

The Pi CPU is a 'RISC' style machine, so the GHz should be 'discounted' by about /5 ... so 1GHz Pi is about the same as a 200MHz PC .. i.e. what we used to run Windows 95/98 on ...