Jerren

Camera monitor

Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:23 pm

Hey,

A buddy of mine has several ip cameras and asked me if it was possible to get them to display on his tv. I'm thinking that the raspberry pi would be perfect for him to just have the program run full screen so when he switches to the correct hdmi output he can instantly see he's camera's.

What i don't know, is if the program wil run on the raspberry since it's os is linuxbased, the program he uses is eyecloud wich is usable on windows, android and ios. So mainly i'm thinking since linux isn't mentioned as a supported os that maybe i could install a virtual machine on it that runs windows so that i would be able to install it, but since i have no actual hands on experience with the raspberry i wanted to check here first if it is at all possible. All the raspberry would do is keep this one program running in probably full screen mode so he can see them whenever he wants.

Thanks in advance and if someone knows/thinks of a better way to do this i wouldn't mind hearing about it either ofcourse

PS: I don't know if this is the correct section if not i'm sorry. (i'm a beginner so feels correct :) )

wh7qq

Re: Camera monitor

Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:34 pm

There are lots of ways to do this with the RPi...just google "raspberry pi surveilance camera" and read up on all the different ways/packages. A direct hookup to the HDMI port on a TV is the simplest approach. Alternativelly, you can use a USB camera with fswebcam or a wide variety of other software...again, google is your friend: "raspberry pi usb camera" is a good starting search term. The nice thing about the RPi for these kind of applications is the low power consumption.

Check http://www.linuxlinks.com/article/20101 ... ebcam.html
Sent by WH7QQ from an RPi3/Raspbian/pixel desktop.

Jerren

Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:41 pm