Nazo

Viability of using a USB power bank as a UPS?

Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:08 am

First, sorry if I got the wrong forum. I'm a beginner at any sort of programming/etc and can't really do much of this sort of thing myself, so I'm a beginner in that respect.

Anyway, to the heart of the matter. I'm curious about how viable it might be to sort of rig up a USB power bank to act as a UPS system. Preferably a cheap one. I have a Raspberry Pi 2 being used as a server on my LAN mostly for some basic stuff like acting as a Squid proxy and network file sharing (music, videos, etc etc) on my LAN. What's more, I have multiple USB power banks, at least one of which has a decent output, boasts 4000mAh power (probably actually accurate as I think it uses two 18650s and usually those cheap Chinese generics are closer to 2000mAh than anything else,) and is capable of providing power while being plugged in to charge. Obviously a USB power bank can definitely power a Raspberry Pi just on its own, but there are two things to consider in using one as any sort of UPS type of solution: