running a projector with raspberry pi 3

12 posts
by colleen » Wed May 31, 2017 2:42 pm
I am brand new to raspberry Pi. I am a video artist and I usually use media players to run my projectors. I would like to find out if it will work to load loop software onto a RP3 and run my projector. I am on a mac.

Also, and more challenging, could I run two separate projectors, with different videos, that sync, off one RP?
by DougieLawson » Sat Jun 03, 2017 1:56 pm
Get one RPi per projector and run your sync'd stuff with http://piwall.co.uk.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
by tvjon » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:00 pm
colleen wrote:...if it will work to load loop software onto a RP3 and run my projector.

I am on a mac.

Also, and more challenging, could I run two separate projectors, with different videos, that sync, off one RP?

Looping videos works fine on any RPi.
What video inputs do your projectors have?

Me too, though only on old intel mac's. but less & less since using RPi's, as they do a pretty good job all round.
Presumably you generate the videos on your mac?

What format are they?

Do you have any of your work online?

Depending on what you need (you haven't really told us much...) you could run 2 videos independently from one RPi.
by colleen » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:26 am