Whykiki

Using a MIDI Baudrate on RPi 3

Mon May 15, 2017 2:25 pm

Hello guys,

I'm totally new to the world of Raspberry and Linux, but I totally love it :-)
Aftter the first simple tests with flashing LEDs and Co. I want to build my first project.

At this point I decided to build a MIDI Controller with TouchScreen on my own. Only MIDI out....it's just testing first :-)
But for now I stuck on receiving the data on my PC or with a MIDI Instrumet.

I use RPi3 with an actual Raspbian OS and I mapped my UART back on /dev/ttyAMA0. So in different forum posts and tutorials I found out, that It's not possible to set the MIDI Baud of 31250 per default.
I have to use the UART Clock.....so I did the following in /boot/config.txt:

Code: Select all

init_uart_clock=39062500
init_uart_baud=38400
dtparam=uart0_clkrate=48000000
After rebooting and checking with the following:

vcgencmd measure_clock uart
I'll get the result:

frequency(22)=39063000
Till here it looks good. I build my breadboard after this tutorial, I only need MIDI out:
http://m0xpd.blogspot.de/2013/01/midi-c ... n-rpi.html

And from there I copied a little bit code, my testing script:

#!/usr/bin/env python
# m0xpd
# shack.nasties 'at Gee Male dot com'
import serial  				# Get the Serial library
ser=serial.Serial('/dev/ttyAMA0',38400)		# Set up the UART  
channel=int(raw_input("Enter MIDI Channel :"))	# input the desired MIDI Channel
command=0xB0 + channel -1			# Build the command byte
controller=int(raw_input("Enter Controller :"))	# input the controller number

while True:					# set up a loop...
 value=int(raw_input("Enter Value :"))		# Get the controller value
 accept=raw_input("Sending " + hex(command) + " " + hex(controller) + " " + hex(value) + "   OK ?  ('y' to send) ")
 if accept=='y':				# Happy with this ?
	message=chr(command) + chr(controller) + chr(value)
	ser.write(message)			# then transmit the message