matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:48 pm

Hi,

I have a 1280x320 pixels ultra wide LCD. Is it possible to have a custom resolution for this to make it work correctly connected via HDMI?

Thank you.
Last edited by matinzk on Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:06 am

I've done this but it doesn't output anything:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 1280 320 60 6 0 0 0

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25204
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:11 am

matinzk wrote:I've done this but it doesn't output anything:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 1280 320 60 6 0 0 0
You have not stated how the LCD is connected or even a Manufacture / Model, is it a secret ??
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machine is a ChromeBox

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:49 am

fruitoftheloom wrote:
matinzk wrote:I've done this but it doesn't output anything:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 1280 320 60 6 0 0 0
You have not stated how the LCD is connected or even a Manufacture / Model, is it a secret ??
No it's not a secret!

Chinese manufacturer and it's connected via HDMI.

Thank you.

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 13979
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:40 pm

matinzk wrote: Chinese manufacturer and it's connected via HDMI.
That being a rather...unusual...resolution, can we have a link to it?

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:49 pm

There is no link really. I got it while I was over in China.

It looks like this:
Image

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Tue May 02, 2017 11:11 am

Is there a possibility to set he resolution to spill out? Just to elaborate; when I set the resolution to 1280x640 (double the height) it works fine but the picture is shrunk. If we could set it so it shows 1280x640 then it works for what we need it to.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25204
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Tue May 02, 2017 12:35 pm

matinzk wrote:Is there a possibility to set he resolution to spill out? Just to elaborate; when I set the resolution to 1280x640 (double the height) it works fine but the picture is shrunk. If we could set it so it shows 1280x640 then it works for what we need it to.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
So it has a converter board between the HDMi and Screen ???
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machine is a ChromeBox

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Tue May 02, 2017 12:46 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
matinzk wrote:Is there a possibility to set he resolution to spill out? Just to elaborate; when I set the resolution to 1280x640 (double the height) it works fine but the picture is shrunk. If we could set it so it shows 1280x640 then it works for what we need it to.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
So it has a converter board between the HDMi and Screen ???
Yes it's got its own controller with an HDMI input.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25204
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Tue May 02, 2017 1:17 pm

matinzk wrote:
fruitoftheloom wrote:
matinzk wrote:Is there a possibility to set he resolution to spill out? Just to elaborate; when I set the resolution to 1280x640 (double the height) it works fine but the picture is shrunk. If we could set it so it shows 1280x640 then it works for what we need it to.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
So it has a converter board between the HDMi and Screen ???
Yes it's got its own controller with an HDMI input.
Therefore for some reason the Controller Board is not reading the HDMi output of the RPi and translating that to the Sceen, so your Raspberry Pi is working as it should..
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machine is a ChromeBox

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Tue May 02, 2017 1:26 pm

It does output picture if I set the resolution at 1280x640 for example but it shrinks it. Hence why I asked if it's possible to make it spill out? Anything we can do in the config.txt file to achieve this?

Thank you.

matinzk
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom resolution for 1280x320 LCD

Wed May 17, 2017 8:13 am

I set the resolution to 1920x480 pixels and it now outputs the image correctly. I can work with this.

I also have another LCD from the same manufacturer. 12.3" wide. Resolution is 1920x720 pixels. When I set the following in the config.txt file I get some white stuff at the bottom of the screen. Any ideas why?

This is my config.txt file contents:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2 
hdmi_mode=1 
hdmi_mode=87 
hdmi_cvt 1920 720 60 6 0 0 0
Here is the image of what the output looks like:
Image

The manufacturer also has provided the following advising to set the HDMI to, but I'm unsure of how to set this up in the config.txt file.

Code: Select all

#define   Vclk_MHZ   132
#define	LCD_XSIZE	1920
#define	LCD_YSIZE	720
#define ADJHIGHT 	LCD_YSIZE

#define	LCD_BPP		16

#define FRAME_RATE	60

#define	LCD_ROTATE	0


#define  HBPD       110
#define  HFPD        8
#define  HSPW       8

#define  VBPD        10
#define  VFPD        10
#define  VSPW        4
Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Return to “Beginners”