alxprogramz
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:32 pm

Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:36 pm

I purchased a Raspberry pi online along with a case and adapter. Now on the chip(CPU) it says Broadcom BCM28374RIFGBG. I'm new in computer also the architecture. I'm running Raspbian, Kali Linux, and the Fedora distro. How can I tell if my Raspberry pi is truly 64-bit when the OS's tells me that I have ARMv7. I feel that I got ripped. Please help

drgeoff
Posts: 9915
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:42 pm

You have a 64 bit chip running in 32 bit mode. You have not been swindled.

http://linuxgizmos.com/raspberry-pi-3-h ... spbian-os/

http://www.cbronline.com/uncategorised/ ... erry-pi-3/
Last edited by drgeoff on Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lpsw
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:44 pm

The BCM2737 is a 64 bit Cortex A53 chip.
http://www.datasheetcafe.com/bcm2837-da ... -broadcom/
Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is - Isaac Asimov

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21056
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:47 pm

alxprogramz wrote:I purchased a Raspberry pi online along with a case and adapter. Now on the chip(CPU) it says Broadcom BCM28374RIFGBG. I'm new in computer also the architecture. I'm running Raspbian, Kali Linux, and the Fedora distro. How can I tell if my Raspberry pi is truly 64-bit when the OS's tells me that I have ARMv7. I feel that I got ripped. Please help
The Raspberry Pi 3B is an ARMv8 CPU

The majority of suitable Operating Systems are compiled for AArch32 so they can run with the differing ARM CPU's of the Raspberry Pi family

https://www.element14.com/community/com ... hmark-ever

If you want to run a AArch64 Operating System there are a few available.

So no you have not been ripped off...

.......the RPT / RPF are not offering a "free" AArch64 Operating System
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24129
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:22 pm

Worthwhile knowing, that the A53 at 1.2 GHz running in 32bit mode is 'faster' than the A7 of the Pi2 running at 1.2GHz. This is the reason the A53 was chosen - even when using a 32bit OS, it's still faster at the same clock speed than the A7.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

User avatar
Gavinmc42
Posts: 4027
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:31 am

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:41 am

even when using a 32bit OS, it's still faster at the same clock speed than the A7.
And it will go even faster and use less power with an Aarch64 64bit OS, one day :lol:
I'm dancing on Rainbows.
Raspberries are not Apples or Oranges

alxprogramz
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:32 pm

Re: Have 32-bit or 64-bit Raspberry Pi?

Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:45 pm

Thank you fruitoftheloom and everyone who responded. Got the link and yeah I do have a 64-bit raspberry pi.

Return to “Beginners”