JayinHouston
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:21 pm

Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:53 am

I keep getting a lightning bolt icon appear in the corner of my screen. Is it possible to use a higher voltage power supply to provide power to the Pi3?
Raspberry Pi 3B running Raspian Jessie. Smarticase with Raspberry Pi Official 7" Touchscreen.
Houston, TX USA

ghans
Posts: 7878
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:05 am

You need more amps instead of more volts , you should also check the cord itself for its length (shorter =better).

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

JayinHouston
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:12 am

ghans wrote:You need more amps instead of more volts , you should also check the cord itself for its length (shorter =better).

ghans
Thank you. What would be the safest max amps we could go?
Raspberry Pi 3B running Raspian Jessie. Smarticase with Raspberry Pi Official 7" Touchscreen.
Houston, TX USA

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10498
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:20 am

a good quality 2.4A 5V PSU and a good quality micro usb lead [shorter ] will be all you need
what are you using now?
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

ghans
Posts: 7878
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:33 am

You could use a 10 or 100 Ampere supply , it doesn't matter because those are maximum ratings.
What matters is that the supply stays over 4.75 and under 5.2 Volt when under load.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

JayinHouston
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:22 pm

RaTTuS wrote:a good quality 2.4A 5V PSU and a good quality micro usb lead [shorter ] will be all you need
what are you using now?
5V 2.5 amp
Raspberry Pi 3B running Raspian Jessie. Smarticase with Raspberry Pi Official 7" Touchscreen.
Houston, TX USA

MarkyV
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:52 pm
Location: Buckingham, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Power cord upgrade

Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:57 pm

Do you have anything else plugged into the Pi - USB peripherals, HATs, servos or cameras? - they can draw extra amps - a 2.5Amp 5V PSU should not cause this problem on a bare Pi3B - if it is just the Pi3B, screen and keyboard/mouse then you may have a faulty PSU.

Mark
My RaspberryPi Blog: http://thepimaker.online

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 11064
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: Power cord upgrade

Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:33 am

Technically...you do need a higher voltage. The lightning bolt indicates that the "5v" plane is at 4.63v or less. However, going for a higher voltage PSU is NOT the answer. There are a number problems that can result in an undervoltage condition.

The PSU may not maintain proper voltage under load, especially load near its current rating. Answer: Get a PSU with a higher current rating so you're not runing it near its limit, or get a better PSU, one that can deliver its full rated current without having the voltage drop.

The cable from the PSU to the Pi may not be able to carry the full current without the internal resistance dragging the voltage down. Answer: Get a shorter and/or thicker power cable.

Too much current draw from connected devices. The Pi has current limiting protections. A Pi3B can not draw more than 2.4A. Of that, 1.2A is available for attached USB devices. Answer: Use a powered hub for at least some USB devices.

Return to “Beginners”