Vidorin

Using Rapsberry Pi to make a wired printer wireless

Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:23 pm

Hello everyone! I have done a bit of research to try and turn my old but very functional HP P1006 Laserjet wired printer into a wireless printer for my network. I tried to do it with an old android tablet and phone but no app exists to use it as a print server I also tried purchasing an actual print server and to no avail was I able to accomplish this goal. Through my research I was led to this article: http://www.instructables.com/id/Raspber ... nt-server/
However, I am not sure what Rapsberry Pi to purchase and if it would even work with my printer model. I am simply trying to turn a wired printer wireless so I can print to it via an Ubuntu 16.04 laptop and a couple of Windows 10 desktops. I would truly appreciate any assistance anyone can give me as I am rather new to this whole Rapsberry Pi stuff. Thank you in advance.

wildfire

Re: Using Rapsberry Pi to make a wired printer wireless

Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Probably better ways to do this but I'd start with using PDF printer drivers on the client(s) which would write the PDF files to your host Pi (say for example /print_queue).

A cron job can check every so often if there is anything in the queue and if so print it and delete the file.

As I said, probably better ways, but the above should give you some ideas as to improviving reliability etc.
NF

Vidorin

Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:21 pm

Could I possibly use the Ubuntu hp printer drivers script to work on this Debian based version of Linux?

wildfire

Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:08 am

If source is available, possibly.

If only binaries it's unlikely, the Pi has an ARM processor, any binaries are likely to be for an x86 processor (entirely different instruction set).
NF

Vidorin

Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:40 pm