Seandunlevy

Pi 0, bare metal, embedded system

Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:58 pm

Hi,
I've been reading rather than posting but I have a growing interest that the Raspberry Pi 0 is almost ideal as an embedded system for an engine-management processor. The code can fit inside 32K if you really optimize for space. The important thing is that the tables required can be generated. 4 or 5 variables do change in a manner ideal to be stored as a wavelet. My only issue is that loading off the SDcard more than doubles the cost. I note that the GPU dumps 32K into the L2 cache. If I could put my code in their, it's VERY cheap indeed.
I'm not sure if the system uses a block of ROM or EEPROM since releasing and then discovering a problem that can't be fixed would prove very problematic... if not impossible. I've been programming in assembly language for over 30 years so I have literally converted the EIC code from 68000 (yep - it's popular) into a mixture of ARM, Thumb & CP15 on paper and It will fit in just over 30K. If I was comparing it to a system more people know, it's like LPC-10 but using wavelets.
It's just a thought. Enough space for a secure boot so that it isn't possible for anyone else to copy the work if it ever get's that far. EMS actually has flags like 'antilag' so that the turbo(s) are set up to spin all the time BUT not pumping anything. The GPIO pins are ideal for setting these items. If nothing else, we will see a 'PiCore EMS'.
Thank you for your time.
Sean

scotty101

Re: Pi 0, bare metal, embedded system

Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:10 pm

My thoughts.

1. The Pi Zero isn't available in large enough quantities to be worth your effort
2. This type of application would be much better suited to a powerful microcontroller rather than a Pi type System on Chip. (For example the 68000 series that you mentioned)
3. There is not programmable EEPROM/FLASH on board. You need to use the SD card however...
4. The Compute Module has a EMMC device on board rather than an SD card.