ChrisMadog

Cannot get relay board to release relays

Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the Pi - well, pretty much so.
I've purchased a Pi 2 B+ and two repay boards so I can automate my home.

I can use either Scratch or Python to activate the relays so they switch on just fine - however they won't switch off !

Any clues ? The relay boards have a transistor driver and it has it's own power supply (or I can connect it to the GPIO pin 2 or 4).
The relays are activated with a low.
As I said, I can get them to turn on but not off.

Can anyone point me in the right direction here ?

Regards,
ChrisM

SonOfAMotherlessGoat

Re: Cannot get relay board to release relays

Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:00 pm

Sure, which model relay boards, and a copy of the Python code you are using would help in the troubleshooting of your setup.
Account Inactive

pksato

Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:55 pm

Hi,
I don't recommend to use these relay board (sainsmart and clones) to control mains AC. Don't have popper isolation and protection.

If relay is activated on low state (0V), and logic/coil side is powered by 5V or 12V, the described situation can happen.
To solve it, use ULN2308 transistor array, this chip invert signal and correct drive relay board.
Need to change software to activate relay on high state.
But, some boards have a option to power logic side with 3v3 (or other voltage) and relay coil site by 5V or 12V.

ChrisMadog

Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:40 pm

Hi and thanks for the replies :)

The relay board is this one on ebay:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/151899698415 ... EBIDX%3AIT

The relays are activated with a low. It starts up inactivated.
Using either scratch or python it will not release. I'm using the code in the tutorials.

I'm beginning to think that the relay board input (GPIO output may need to be pulled high by a resistor and I'd guess around 10K should be fine. I will try this and see and go down to 2K2 if that doesn't work.