oswinsutrisno

Settings and changes persist after re-installing

Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:28 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to the Pi world. I've read the Common Pitfalls for Beginners but I'm still not able to figure out my problem.

I've successfully installed Raspbian with a 3 inch display working by following online guides. I've also attached a WiFi USB dongle and got WiFi up and running.

I've decided to start from scratch and reformatting my SD card using SD Formatter with Full Erase Overwrite option and used Win32DiskImager to write the latest Jessie build of Raspbian.

The strange thing i've noticed is that all my prior work (downloading TFT LCD drivers, updates made in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-fbturbo.conf, WiFi configuration) are still present in my "formatted" SD card.

Am I not formatting it correctly? Are these not stored on the SD card?

I've tried a different SD card and i'm still getting the same effect.

Totally baffled. Appreciate if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Settings and changes persist after re-installing

Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:41 pm

You are not formatting it correctly, it seems the formatter you used formats just one partition, but ignores the other (linux) partitions.
the official sd-formatter needs a few options set (resizing, not doing a quick format) to work (with previously used sd-cards).

Formatting in a camera also works due to the way the formatter works there, it just wipes everything from the card.

oswinsutrisno

Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:45 pm

But I've even tried another SD card that i've never used for Pi work. :?

I've also used diskpart on windows to clean the entire SD and create a new volume. then proceed to SD formatter with the said options (Full Overwrite and Resize).

oswinsutrisno

Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:05 pm

I figured it out....worst silliest mistake in the world..... :oops:

Burngate

Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:09 pm