JohnBrambles

RaspberryPi frustration

Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:07 pm

I'm not a whinger by nature and I am no expert but I have been a Linux user for many years - I maintain a "gateway" system for twenty users that employs DHCP server, WINS and shared directories (via SAMBA), an FTP server, an IP-based camera security system and SQUID caching proxy server. I have used Debian, Ubuntu, Mint and OpenSUSE distributions and could always get them to do what I want.

But... I am just about reaching the point where I am ready to give up on the two Rasspberry Pi's that a collegue and I own.

Our requirements are simple - we need the Raspberry Pi to work reliably with a keyboard, mouse, HDMI display and a USB Wireless Dongle under Raspbian.

We have had our Pi's for 4 weeks now and they are still not fully functional. It took 4 attempts for me to find a power supply that would reliable power the Pi's. Then I was faced with the repeating keyboard problem - I have tried 5 keyboards and they all exhibit the repeating keys problem to a greater or lesser extent. The latest problem is the Edimax wireless dongle - over the past week I have tried every means possible from forums, blogs etc and we cannot get them to work. In addition if I power up my Pi with the Edimax plugged in it hangs trying to populate /dev. This Edimax works perfectly on a Windows 7 (ugh!) laptop. I looked at some posts on this forum about installing the Edimax software and one went on for 29 pages - my brain tilted after 4 pages!

Does anyone have a simple way of getting the Edimax working on a Pi that I may be able to understand. Maybe I'm too thick and I will never get it to work :(

Both our Pi's sometimes just hang when running LXDE and as a consequence all work is lost :(

We have tried multiple SD cards - this makes no difference.

Oh... my Pi USB chip (?) gets so hot after it hass been on a couple of hours I cannot touch it for more that a second or so - is this normal, is it the cause of the problems.