polarbeared

Closing a circuit using 12 volt relay

Sun May 29, 2016 8:04 am

Hi everyone, I'm very new to electronics, and I realise this is a question that's been asked a lot, but I still have no idea.

I was at Jaycar electronics today and I mistakingly purchased an 8 channel relay board which switches at 12 volts.
I have 12v DC external power supplies available (those ones you plug into the wall). Before I attempt to wire this thing up and damage a university loaned RPi2 I have 3 questions;

1. Is this even possible? – supplying 12 volts to a relay externally and somehow controlling the switch on an off with GPIOs?
2. Are relays highly resistive? I understand that you can put up-to 250v through this thing, and I was really just wanting to close a contact on a remote control…
3. If you think I should return it, what should I get instead? I'm trying to close possibly 5 different contacts on a remote control. Not anything too big.

The manual for the device I bought:
http://goo.gl/ygf5XL

Would this be a solution? Why does it need a 9v battery?
http://electronics.stackexchange.com/qu ... transistor
Last edited by polarbeared on Sun May 29, 2016 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jimjulian

Re: Closing a circuit using 12 volt relay

Sun May 29, 2016 3:19 pm

Hello,

First : your 'manual' is not a manual, but a datasheet.

Second : Your second link is dead.

Third : If you don't know anything about electronics, you're in over your head.

Fourth : If you don't have a volt-ohm meter, you don't know anything about electronics.

Hope this helps.

DougieLawson

Sun May 29, 2016 4:31 pm

You need 12V to energise the relay coils, you need 5V to activate the opto couplers that switch the relays on or off. The most important thing is to pull that jumper between Vcc and JD-Vcc off the pins or you risk feeding your RPi 12V (which WILL let the magic smoke out and WILL cost you £35 for a new RPi).