inckka

How to release a package for RPI

Wed May 04, 2016 2:14 pm

I have no experience with packaging for Linux. :(
I developed a proprietary application with C and GTK+ for RPI. Currently I just compile the C files and having an executable. The user interface is loading through a .glade file.
I'd like to configure my application to be an installation setup file. Which can install on any RPI without any issues. Also I need a way to hide the .glade files from end user.
Please explain which is the correct way to do all of these steps.

Thanks.

MarkHaysHarris777

Re: How to release a package for RPI

Wed May 04, 2016 3:03 pm

Ok, I'll bite...
inckka wrote:I have no experience with packaging for Linux.
Clearly.
inckka wrote: Please explain which is the correct way to do all of these steps.
I reject the premise of the question...
inckka wrote: I developed a proprietary application with C and GTK+ for RPI. Currently I just compile the C files and having an executable.
As a card-carrying member of the FSF I must tell you that proprietary software is not a good thing from a societal perspective, nor is it a beneficial educational front... I would recommend taking a look at the GPLv3 license and making your app free (libre) software and releasing the source of your project so that others may learn from it.
inckka wrote: The user interface is loading through a .glade file.
I'd like to configure my application to be an installation setup file. Which can install on any RPI without any issues. Also I need a way to hide the .glade files from end user.
Deliberate obfuscation in coding is evil, particularly on a platform specifically designed and marketed to be an educational tool for young people so that they will understand how their computer works, and more importantly how to program their computer by themselves. Obfuscation deliberately works against those ends.

marcus
:geek:
marcus
:ugeek:

MarkHaysHarris777

Wed May 04, 2016 3:17 pm