bastian94
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:07 pm

i have tryed to configure my network and when i am trying to bring up the connection it's says that wpa_supplicant exited with return code 1 and it will not start the connection

pjc123
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:22 am

bastian94 wrote:i have tryed to configure my network and when i am trying to bring up the connection it's says that wpa_supplicant exited with return code 1 and it will not start the connection
I would highly recommend that you first get things working without calling and using the wpa_supplicant file; it is very tricky to set up, and minor errors in syntax or parameters will return an error code 1. After you get that running, then work on troubleshooting the wpa_supplicant file.

Here is an example of the interfaces file for WPA2: auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0
auto wlan0

iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid “ENTER SSID HERE”
wpa-psk “ENTER PASSKEY HERE”
[/code]
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
https://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

bastian94
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:10 pm

And were are i am supposed to use that configuration and the guide sad use the command and when i exuted it and then it say that wpa supplicant with exited with error code 1

pjc123
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:26 pm

bastian94 wrote:And were are i am supposed to use that configuration and the guide sad use the command and when i exuted it and then it say that wpa supplicant with exited with error code 1
Since your past posts indicated to me that you have already worked with these files, I did not include the location. You need to change your /etc/network/interfaces file to look like the one I posted. It will still work with any steps you followed using the elinux guide. Then reboot or restart the network. That will eliminate the error code, but not necessarily other problems that you have. You need to troubleshoot one thing at a time.
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
https://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

bastian94
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:45 pm

ok thanks

User avatar
woopderson
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:06 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:53 pm

I was having a spot of trouble with this adapter too. Started with a fresh image of the latest raspbian wheezy as well.

I plugged an ethernet cable in first and did a sudo-apt get update && apt-get upgrade (which ran for a good while, be sure you get the upgrade).

Mine would not work until I ran the upgrade command. I also have a D-Link 7 port hub: http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=048289

It has two ports that provide more power, so I have the dongle plugged in to one of those as it is rumored to be power hungry. This hub is also powering my pi from one of the regular usb ports.

Then ensured I had the latest firmware installed, along with the wireless utils.
sudo apt-get install wireless-tools usbutils
(already had latest version)
then:
sudo apt-get install firmware-atheros
(already had latest firmware)
sudo wget http://linuxwireless.org/download/htc_f ... tc_9271.fw
sudo cp htc_9271.fw /lib/firmware

Followed this guide for rest of setup: http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse

Just followed the WICD instructions here, nothing else was needed.

Installed WICD and it runs without issue.
I did not need to do any wpa.config editing/creation or /etc/network/interfaces/wpa_supplicant, all thanks to wicd.

bastian94
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:21 pm

so can i remove wpa supplicant and only use wicd?

User avatar
woopderson
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:06 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Setup TL-WN722N

Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:55 am

bastian94 wrote:so can i remove wpa supplicant and only use wicd?

WICD did not require a wpa_supplicant or any chagnes in /etc/network/interfaces.

Return to “Beginners”