raspmypi

Cant edit LXDE-pi/autostart to disable screen saver...

Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:41 pm

First, KODOS 2 ALL @ Raspberry Pi Foundation, for all U DO!!!....You Guys ROCK!!!....
Now, I have been using Debian Linux Ubuntu since like 6.0 around 2012 or so.. By far the best linux distro I have used/seen.. I am a hardware techsupport Hobbyist.. I like to fix things, Mainly Microsoft junk.... I have to say Linux live distros have been a godsend to my work for years now, Iike said i fix windows junk mostly,..
I say that because I, over the years have worked on countless windows systems, I can count on one hand the number of linux systems I have had to fix... In short Linux doesn't breakdown like windows junk..Nor do i have to search the web for drivers,.. Audio, video and the like.. Ubuntu was the first live distro I installed where I didn't have to find a driver for anything..., just a little configuring here and there that is all....
Sorry for my paragraph of not so essential background info...
So I got all my pi hardware together, wireless keyboard and mouse, wifi n dongle,usb audio jack,and 4 port powered hub, all of which worked first try out of the box...
Thank You Again Pi Foundation Guru GODS....

Now my problem is quite simply this, I am trying to edit etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE-PI/autostart file from the gui, (not as root), to include the tree lines of code to stop the screensaver from blanking on me, I dont know exactly what to do to fix this issue, whether it be login as root from cli then startx and go from there.. or is there a way to edit this file as root from the limited user gui??? (say with a right click ((edit as root option))... all help with this will be greatly appreciated...