mattig

Looking for some basic projects

Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:31 pm

Hidy ho all,

I got a Rasberry Pi B+ for Christmas from my cousin. I did post on this board a bit back, asking about power supplies. And that thread was rather helpful (though at the end, I did get a warning).

Now my cousin is using some kind of os to play classic games on her Pi. While that sounds interesting, I'm not a programmer. I have very little to no interest in Editing linux config files, to get games to run properly.

I'm a network tech. My interests lie with gaming (thats my hobby) and networking projects I can do. Like setting up a firewall, getting a server up and running, Or anything else you can think of that involves networking and/or network security.

So I'm wondering if there are any good, beginner networking projects for someone is is brand new to the pi.

Navyscourge

Re: Looking for some basic projects

Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:45 pm

I'm wondering if there are any good, beginner networking projects
Yes. What do you call a beginner networking project?

Try Google ;) - If you get stuck, just post back here

karrika

Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:57 pm

One thing I found very fascinating network wise is the the new query language GraphQL. It is used in Finland for finding out all public transportation in the entire country. The language itself comes from Facebook I believe and it seems to become some kind of de-facto standard in the near future.

I just placed one pull request to the Raspberry Pi information display project for adding a traffic page for monitoring public transportation in Finland to the project. https://github.com/elParaguayo/RPi-InfoScreen-Kivy

The code itself is Kivy based python. And the networking things you could add there is only restricted by your imagination. Perhaps there is other new services popping up using GraphQL.

Here is what I wrote in GraphQL to query the transport schedule above:

Code: Select all

data = \
"{" \
"  stop(id: \"%s\") {" \
"    name code" \