User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

can't ssh

Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:12 pm

Hy.

I've just successfully installed openelec on my rp2 and am having trouble ssh-ing to it. I use cyberduck or fillezilla (I'm no to good with a comand prompt). I enter the ip adress and the default username and password (root, openelec) and the dang thing won't connect. I even tried setting up a static IP adress and set the DNS servers to google (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4). Nothing...

What am I doing wrong?

ElEscalador
Posts: 911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:55 pm
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Contact: Website

Re: can't ssh

Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:23 pm

I don't remember where I saw it, but there is an setting somewhere (in rpiconfig?) to enable/disable ssh. I'd google "enable raspberry pi ssh" and see if that points you to the right place to check that setting.
Robotics tips, hacks, book extras https://youtube.com/practicalrobotics

User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:36 am

Tried that... All I found out was that the SSH is already installed and enabled on my pi. Is there a way that the router could be at fault?

User avatar
rurwin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4257
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 pm
Contact: Website

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:44 am

It's enabled by default in Raspbian, but OpenElec may be different. Are you sure your sources were referring to OpenElec?

stderr
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:29 pm

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 4:05 am

winnetouch wrote:Hy.

I've just successfully installed openelec on my rp2 and am having trouble ssh-ing to it. I use cyberduck or fillezilla (I'm no to good with a comand prompt). I enter the ip adress and the default username and password (root, openelec) and the dang thing won't connect.
What am I doing wrong?
Is it configured to reject root connects? Did you try

ssh -vvv root@ip

to see why it thinks it isn't working?

User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:17 am

I tried the same thing with retropie. Doesn't work. Openelec doesn't have a comand line. I can go find the IP adress in openelec and input the default username and password but it doesn't work. Is it weird that both openelec and retropie use the same IP?

EDIT: I tried ssh -vvv root@ip in retro pi.

This is the result

OpenSSH_6. 0p1 Debian-4+deb7u2, OpenSSL 1.0.1e 11 Feb 2013
debug1: Reading configuration data etc/ssh/shh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh/shh_config line 19: Applying option for *
debug2: shh_connect: needpriv 0
ssh: Could not resolve hostname ip: No adress associated with hostname

Navyscourge
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:12 am

Is it weird that both openelec and retropie use the same IP?
The ip address belongs to the Pi, not the operating system. If you shutdown the Pi the router 'remembers' the ip address that the Pi has (how long for is a setting on the router). Starting up the Pi with a different system on a different SDcard will mean the ip address is the same.
I tried ssh -vvv root@ip
It seems that you typed 'ip' rather than the ip address (not your fault, it is an abbreviation that is commonly used, and we tend to expect everyone to know this). Type

Code: Select all

ssh -vvv root@192.168.0.1
- replace the 192.168.0.1 with the correct ip address

User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:49 pm

Sorry, I'm fairly new to this.

I tried that and a long string shows up with debugs and at the end it asks me for a password. What password? I tried my network password and it doesn't work. I tried the default retropie password for ssh. All that happens is:

debug3: packet_send2: adding 64 (len 57 padlen 7 extra_pad 64)
debug2: we sent a password packet, wait for reply
Connection closed by UNKNOWN

But all of this still doesn't solve my problem with openElec. I can't access the comand prompt in that and that's the whole point why I want ssh access in the first place.

DirkS
Posts: 10505
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:56 pm

See http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/OpenELEC_FAQ
User ID and password for openelec are root / openelec

User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:22 pm

I get that and I tried entering it in cyberduck just as I stated above. It doesn't work.

User avatar
winnetouch
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:48 am

Re: can't ssh

Sat Jan 16, 2016 2:00 pm

So... I gave up and reflashed my memory card... Lo and behold. Now it works. Looks like I screwed up the settings somehow.

Return to “Beginners”