drp_61
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: India

can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:31 pm

Here in shops micro SD card with adaptor to fit in SD slot are available, is advisable to use this way?
Secondly is it ok to use sdhc card, 4GB. Class 4?

I just got my raspberrypi yesterday, got everything but forgot to order SD card from RS..

Wait to get some quick reply.

Thanks support team in ADV.
D. Patel

raspfly
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:42 am

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:33 pm

Unfortunately, the Element 14 website, for our area, does not sells any accessory for RP so i could not purchase a SD card. Wish to buy one and noticed a lot being written both in favour or against class 4 cards. Puppy Linux recommends Class 6 or above. Some others rather prefer rather slower cards. A lot of performance comparison is also posted. So i am a lil confused abt this. Can any one kindly advise in simple words, is a 4Gb class 4 SD card too slow for use with RP ? If so what is the recommended class of SD card for using with RP ?

raspfly
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:42 am

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:50 pm

I bought a 16Gb class4 card and it works fine.
I do not know how it compares with the class 10 ones.

cupcake
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:00 pm

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:29 pm

My RPI runs fine on a 4GB SDHC Class 4 card.

User avatar
redhawk
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:41 pm

I'm using a Kingston 8GB class 4 Micro SD Card + SD adapter and this works fine with the PI too.

Richard S.

KillBill
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:46 am

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:06 pm

I bought a Transcend 4GB SDHC Class 4 card for my Pi. It works like a charm! 8-)

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: can we use 4GB sdhc card, class 4

Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:34 pm

I have a couple of class 4 SD 4g cards loaded with Wheezy and they arepreforming wonderfully.

I even have a copy of Rasp Razor running from a £1 special Blue Box 1Gig card that does not have a class number on it.
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

Return to “Beginners”