sarkar

Please give suggestion for training

Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:30 am

Hi All! :D
I am an absolute beginner to Linux. (P.S. I have no idea how Linux works) :oops:
I am yet to receive my RaspberryPi.

In the mean time, I wish to learn more about the Linux distribution I'll be using on raspberrypi. :idea:
Can I install it on my PC (with x86 processor)? If yes, please tell me how and where can I get it.

I plan to be expert with RaspberryPi's Linux distribution before I receive one! :ugeek:

Please Help!

kobzar

Re: Please give suggestion for training

Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:35 am

you can used qemu and greate virtual mshine with architecture whats you need.
http://wiki.qemu.org/Manual
No Fate!

Jim JKla

Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:12 am

There are many versions (distros = distrobutions) of Linux nearly all can be downloaded for free as iso image files from these files you can create an install CD/DVD (which depends on size) you can install most to run from the a bootable CD/DVD and then install in a sub directory of your windows drive.

You can let this install a modification to the master boot record that will allow a dual boot.

Alternativly download and install Oracle VM (Oracle Virtual Machine also free download) this will allow you to build a virtual machine on your PC on which you can build and install with any operating system your processor chip will support and you have an itall CD for (ie you can't build a64 bit machine on a pc with a 32bit processor (quart in a pint pot) ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

kobzar

Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:29 am