tylersong55

New to Raspberry Pi - how to do 'menus'

Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:31 pm

I am brand new to the world of Raspberry Pi projects and the programming that goes with it. I have some experience in C++ coding and want to take on a project of my own. The basis of the project would be to make a display that I can edit to display different things with different menus. I realize that I will have to undergo a learning curve and many tutorials and hours of debugging at my level. But I want to know if there are any suggestions to making a simple type of display system that I can edit and rearrange to my design.

Here is what I would like to have done:
I want to have three main menus that would have different types of info displayed on them. Within these menus I want to have 5 tabs that you can switch between by moving an arrow key or external knob/scroll wheel that goes side to side. And within those menus I want to have the ability to customize as much of the display as possible. This would include a area for a picture and other arrangements within the displayed menu.

I currently don't have the Raspberry Pi 2 that I ordered and just need to know of any IDE's or compilers that can help me learn how to start this project. Are there any suggestions that you can make to start me off either in C++ or in a simple coding language? Thanks in advance!

drgeoff

Re: New to Raspberry Pi

Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:49 am

You could do that in html, ie web pages.

metalj

Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:07 am

Check out code blocks ide. Also raspbian comes with a compiler for c & c++.
Backspace 28 times :)

tylersong55

Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:11 pm

Would working in C++ be too hard for this kind of thing or would I want to do something else. This would be a device and not a web page

drgeoff

Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:03 pm

tylersong55 wrote:This would be a device and not a web page