mjflynt
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:44 am

Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:58 pm

I was able to do this quite easily in Wheezy, but I cannot find anything analogous to "windows settings" in Jessie. Mind you - I can add desktops with no problem, but they don't stick. Any help is appreciated!

Here is the website and instuctions that used to work:

search.php?keywords=windows+settings


To set up multiple desktops do the following:

Click Menu,
Then Preferences;
Then Windows Settings;
From the Configuration manager choose Desktops in the left hand column;
Select the desired Number of Desktops;
Then click Close.

You now have multiple desktops, However, the GUI does not give any indication of this and you need to remember the keyboard shortcuts to use them: Ctrl + Alt + Left/Right will switch to the next desktop. To make this more usable do the following:

Right Click on the menu bar at the top of the screen;
Select Add/Remove Panel Items;
Select the Panel Applets Tab;
Click the Add button;
Choose Desktop Pager from the list;
Optional, choose Desktop Number/Workspace Name;
Click Close.

This will add a panel applet to the menu bar (far right by default) that will allow you to click and switch between the desktops.

User avatar
KLL
Posts: 1453
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:58 am

mjflynt wrote: Click Menu,
Then Preferences;
Then Windows Settings;
From the Configuration manager choose Desktops in the left hand column;
Select the desired Number of Desktops;
Then click Close.
for me its on
/ Menu / Preferences / Open Box Configuration Manager / TAB Desktops / increase Number of Desktops / click Desktop Names and overwrite (rename ) them /

katjav
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:22 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:39 pm

Not sure if it's just me but Open Box Configuration Manager was not in the Preferences menu of my Raspbian Jessie install. Package 'obconf' was not installed by default. I installed that and then got Open Box Configuration Manager in Preferences.

Katja

mjflynt
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:44 am

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:19 am

Thank you gentle people!

I combined the info from both the above posts by using:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install obconf
to get the open box configurator, and I made the changes suggested. And it stuck! Thanks so much!

Aandrew7
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:48 pm

What are the Hotkeys for switching screens? Ctrl+Alt +Left or Right does not work.

matrix321
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:58 pm

Try
Shift Alt Left/Right
It works for me in Raspian Stretch.

matrix321
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:12 pm

You can find your current shortcuts in

Code: Select all

~/.config/openbox/lxde-pi-rc.xml

klricks
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:25 am

Aandrew7 wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:48 pm
What are the Hotkeys for switching screens? Ctrl+Alt +Left or Right does not work.
There is a list of defaults here: https://wiki.debian.org/Openbox

[Shift] + [Alt] + [Left] or [Right] moves the current window left or right but does not change desktops

[Windows] + [F1]...[F2] etc sorta works if you press the windows key 2 x so that the menu is closed then quickly press [Windows] + [F1] again.

This works: Moves the current window to next desktop
[Shift] + [Alt] + [Left]
[Shift] + [Alt] + [Right]
Last edited by klricks on Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:53 am, edited 3 times in total.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

n67
Posts: 938
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:44 am

You can also switch desktops by running the wheel on the mouse with the mouse over the desktop.

(If you have a wheel mouse, of course)

This is both very convenient and very annoying (because I often do it by mistake).
"L'enfer, c'est les autres"

G fytc hsqr rum umpbq rm qyw rm rfc kmbq md rfgq dmpsk:

Epmu Sn!

J lnacjrw njbruh-carppnanm vxm rb mnuncrwp vh yxbcb!

matrix321
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:59 am

matrix321 wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:58 pm
Try
Shift Alt Left/Right
It works for me in Raspian Stretch.
Sorry of course this was a mistake. With this shortcut you move only the active window to the next dektop....

User avatar
PeterO
Posts: 5066
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops in Jessie

Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:33 pm

There is a desktop pager that you can add to your tool bar.
PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.
"The primary requirement (as we've always seen in your examples) is that the code is readable. " Dougie Lawson

Return to “Beginners”