Dpool

PI Home Surveillance

Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:10 am

Hi guys,

I am new here, with a Raspberry Project in mind. Currently I only own 1x Raspberry Pi 2, but intend to buy another one (please read MY PROJECT as to why). NOTE: I am a newbie with Pi.

MY PROJECT:
I am looking for a good guide on how to setup a Surveilance environment with Raspberry Pi for my Home, which would detect motion and the camera would take one picture and save it on my Raspberry Pi Server. After each 24 hours, the saved images should be sent to my Dropbox and be deleted from the Pi Server.
I would also like to configure some sort of an Android App that would notify me of new Picture taken (it does not necessarily need to send me the picture, but just a notification on my phone).

SOLUTIONS:
Yes, indeed, it is easiest to say "Google this" and "Search that". But I could not find everything suitable for my case.

What I have found:
- A good motion detection guide for Raspberry PI: It takes a picture with webcam when detected motion (
- A guide for Android app to recieve Push notifications

What I have not found:
- A Guide to setup a SIMPLE Raspberry Server: I only found some Ultimate Home Servers, with user control supporting multiple users, etc. I do not need that. I just want one user (admin) and a file on server where the images would be then stored (sent to).
- A Guide / API how to send from one Raspberry Pi to another Raspberry Pi (Server) saved images
- A Guide / API how to send after 24 hours (or X time slot), all the images saved on the Pi Server to my Dropbox Account and then automaticly delete them afterwards from Pi Server

QUESTION:
Is the above maybe possible to do with a single Raspberry Pi (so no need for additional to run a simple server on it)?

I would kindly like to ask for your help on the guides that I have not found - if maybe you did something similar and can share it here ? OR if you did find a guide which I seek for my example ?

Many thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Dpool