Kohime

Visible Light Communication using RasPi and a Smartphone

Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:35 pm

Hi everyone,

I am new to Raspberry Pi programming and I have a quite difficult school project. I need to create a VLC (visible light communication) emitter using a Raspberry Pi 1 model B and one (or multiple) LED(s). The receiver is a smartphone, I need to receive and decode some data on it.

I have found that the camera of the smartphone can take pictures every 40 ms. This gives a very low data rate, since I have to transmit files of about 10 to 100 Kilo-Octets.

I have no choice regarding the emitter, it must be a Raspberry Pi with LEDs, however I chose to use a smartphone because my solution needs to have the smallest amount of hardware (meaning : I have a smartphone at my disposal for this project, but I do not have any additionnal Raspberry.)

I have, of course, tried to find solutions on Google and in this forum but couldn’t find anything useful.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BMS Doug

Re: Visible Light Communication using RasPi and a Smartphone

Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:22 pm

How many LEDs can you use? you can vastly increase your data transmission rateby adding more.
Doug.
Building Management Systems Engineer.

scotty101

Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:39 pm

What kind of school do you go to!! Most University Graduates would struggle to get that working with any accuracy.
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

drgeoff

Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:10 pm

scotty101 wrote:What kind of school do you go to!! Most University Graduates would struggle to get that working with any accuracy.