Page 1 of 1

Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:53 am
by jahboater
Hi,

I run one of my Pi's headless 24/7.
To save a few ma I turn off the HDMI with "/usr/bin/tvservice -o"

I read somewhere that its possible to turn off the composite RCA output also, but can find nothing on how to do it.

Can anyone tell me how?

Thanks

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:00 am
by AndyD
Even though it says

Code: Select all

Powering off HDMI
It certainly turns off the RCA output on my Raspberry Pis (tested on a Model B and Model B+).

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:26 am
by jahboater
Thanks!

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:27 am
by DougieLawson
sudo tvservice -o turns everything off.

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ # tvservice -s
state 0x40001 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.00Hz, interlaced
[email protected] ~ # tvservice -o
Powering off HDMI
[email protected] ~ # tvservice -s
state 0x120001 [TV is off]
[email protected] ~ #

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:20 pm
by Chris_G_Miller
I would also like to get rid of the entry Composite-1 in my setup - see for example output of xrandr:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 480 x 800, maximum 2048 x 2048
Composite-1 unknown connection primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
720x480 62.69
DSI-1 connected 480x800+0+0 right (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
800x480 60.07*+

I think the presence of this (unused) device with a funky resolution is messing up chromium-browser's ability to render images without trying to scale them. I have tried over-riding the resolution in the chromium-browser startup line.

Is it perhaps possible to knock out this composite device via the Device Tree?
I'm using the vc4-kms-v3d overlay with a portait mode LCD which is 800x480.
Thanks - Chris

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:31 am
by W. H. Heydt
Chris_G_Miller wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:20 pm
I would also like to get rid of the entry Composite-1 in my setup - see for example output of xrandr:
Since this is, basically, a different question that the one dealt with above AND the last previous entry was 3 years ago (that is, at least one major OS release back), you'd be better off to start a new thread.