Electro-Poleas
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Spain
Contact: Website

RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:43 pm

Hi!

I'm running RPi B+ through my wifi connection and accesing it with remote desktop in my laptop (Windows 7) Everything is fine except that, although I'm using a spanish configuracion in my laptop and in my RPi, when I switch to the RPi screen, the laptop config changes to english.

Do you have an idea of what's the problem?

Thank you very much.

User avatar
kusti8
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:23 pm

You set the keyboard through raspi-config?
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

Electro-Poleas
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Spain
Contact: Website

Re: RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:07 pm

kusti8 wrote:You set the keyboard through raspi-config?
I configured the keyboard when I installed Raspbian.

User avatar
mad-hatter
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: By the UK seaside

Re: RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:26 pm

Hello,

RDP defaults to a US layout.
Generally with Windows 7, I think you have to add an entry in the registry.
I can't remember what I did to get from US to UK.
Google search 'remote desktop keyboard layout windows 7 to linux spanish '

Regards

Electro-Poleas
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Spain
Contact: Website

Re: RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:58 am

mad-hatter wrote:Hello,

RDP defaults to a US layout.
Generally with Windows 7, I think you have to add an entry in the registry.
I can't remember what I did to get from US to UK.
Google search 'remote desktop keyboard layout windows 7 to linux spanish '

Regards
Hi, thanks for the info. I found two links on this. One for Windows and one for Ubuntu.

The Windows link says that there is a way to fix this by adding a value to the registry. But this is intended to be done on the computer which you want to be accessed and it's assumed it is a Windows computer.

The Ubuntu link says that you have to work with xrdp. I'm not sure if this is suitable here and seems way too advanced for me.

User avatar
mad-hatter
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: By the UK seaside

Re: RPi Remote desktop keyboard configuration

Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:00 am

Hello,

Its NOT the Windows registry, my error.
Have a look here :- http://c-nergy.be/blog/?p=2879

If you change all references to Ubuntu to Rasbian, I think this will work.
Its the 'xrdp' settings on the 'Pi' that need to be edited.
You need to read it all, especially the comments posted. (gives keyboard code information)

Regards

Return to “Beginners”