hitsware
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:12 pm
Location: sacramento , california , usa
Contact: Website

PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:50 pm

Is there any way to tell the difference
by looking at the board ?

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10498
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:55 pm

by reading the RAM chip
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe


hitsware
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:12 pm
Location: sacramento , california , usa
Contact: Website

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:21 pm

Thank You ( s )
I ' ll get a magnifying glass .....

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36526
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:50 pm

Why not ask the operating system

grep -i 'revision' /proc/cpuinfo

The first digit from that tells you the memory size
  • 0b1100 or 0xC == 4GB
  • 0b1011 or 0xB == 2GB
  • 0b1010 or 0xA == 1GB
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

hitsware
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:12 pm
Location: sacramento , california , usa
Contact: Website

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:26 pm

DougieLawson wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:50 pm
Why not ask the operating system

grep -i 'revision' /proc/cpuinfo

The first digit from that tells you the memory size
  • 0b1100 or 0xC == 4GB
  • 0b1011 or 0xB == 2GB
  • 0b1010 or 0xA == 1GB
Thank You !
I ' m still having video problems ,
and trying to differentiate between
4G and ( recently aquired ) 2G .
Can ' t use system with no video .

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36526
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:56 pm

hitsware wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:26 pm
Can't use system with no video.
You can if you can ssh to it using PuTTY from your Windows system or JuiceSSH from your phone.

With plain Raspbian adding a "ssh" or "ssh.txt" file to the partion that's visible to Windows will enable SSH. A tool like Fing will find a Raspberry on your network (if you have mDNS then a domain name of raspberrypi.local may work). Since you won't have configured WiFi you will need to wire it to your router.

You can wire a Raspberry to your laptop (with Windows internet connection sharing) and it will get an address from 192.168.137.xxx/24 (there's ways to scan that subnet on Windows).

So your assertion that you can't use a system with no video is false.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

hitsware
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:12 pm
Location: sacramento , california , usa
Contact: Website

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:30 pm

DougieLawson wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:56 pm
hitsware wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:26 pm
Can't use system with no video.
You can if you can ssh to it using PuTTY from your Windows system or JuiceSSH from your phone.

With plain Raspbian adding a "ssh" or "ssh.txt" file to the partion that's visible to Windows will enable SSH. A tool like Fing will find a Raspberry on your network (if you have mDNS then a domain name of raspberrypi.local may work). Since you won't have configured WiFi you will need to wire it to your router.

You can wire a Raspberry to your laptop (with Windows internet connection sharing) and it will get an address from 192.168.137.xxx/24 (there's ways to scan that subnet on Windows).


So your assertion that you can't use a system with no video is false.
Can I do that with a RPi 3B+ ? ( no Windows or phone (other than land-line) )

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36526
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: PI 4 ( 1G , 2G , 4G )

Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:32 pm

Yes. You'll need to run dnsmasq as a DHCP server.

Take a look at the make my RPi into an access point docs.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Return to “Beginners”