User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:10 pm

magic_man185 wrote:I've finally got it all figured out. When I compiled pianobar, I compiled it as root. That caused the pianobar folder to be owned by root. I just deleted pianobar and recompiled it using sudo commands instead, and it works that way everything should. Thank you so much for your help, it has been greatly appreciated. Now I look forward to trying out your android app.
Sounds great :) Pianobar is such an amazing piece of software imho, it's not been more than a couple of weeks since I first discovered Pandora and since then it's been pretty much all I listen to. Hope you will like my app and please let me know if you find any bugs or have any suggestions for improvements.

melsaxing
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:54 am
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:08 am

If I just create the ctl file, the permissions are prw-r--r--.

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:33 am

melsaxing wrote:If I just create the ctl file, the permissions are prw-r--r--.
As long as it works that's fine. The main difference between a ctl file and a "normal" file is the "p" in the beginning.

Chinasaur
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:42 pm

Hi guys, this looks like a nice setup, but I have an alternative if you want to check it out. Here's a quick blurb.

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:57 am

Chinasaur wrote:Hi guys, this looks like a nice setup, but I have an alternative if you want to check it out. Here's a quick blurb.
Thanks. I've thought of using pianod instead of pianobar but never really gotten to it yet, there's also an Android app for pianod (https://github.com/hinesmr/pianod-mobile) that I don't know how well it works. I'll try to check it out at some point but I'll keep working on the pianobar remote as well in either case.

Chinasaur
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:11 am

azeam wrote:Thanks. I've thought of using pianod instead of pianobar but never really gotten to it yet, there's also an Android app for pianod (https://github.com/hinesmr/pianod-mobile) that I don't know how well it works. I'll try to check it out at some point but I'll keep working on the pianobar remote as well in either case.
The pianod mobile app is still in a pretty early stage of development. It's a Titanium studio app, so should theoretically be deployable to iOS. I worked on it a little, but I think now that the websockets client works on Android and iOS browsers that's a nice solution; I like the idea of a single client that works across platforms. Since pianod is getting new features regularly it's nice to maintain one thing.

denverlittle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:00 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:04 pm

I'd like to do something like this for my wife's AirPI. Do you have Pianobar run on startup of your Pi?

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:06 pm

denverlittle wrote:I'd like to do something like this for my wife's AirPI. Do you have Pianobar run on startup of your Pi?
No, the Android app will start pianobar automatically after logging in (some functions won't work if it's started manually).

Edit: If you want to have it start automatically on startup anyway, you should start it like this and the functions will work

Code: Select all

pianobar > ~/.config/pianobar/stationcreate

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:23 am

Bumping this thread a bit, the app has gotten much improved lately, with some new features such as multiple servers support and sharing current song on eg. Facebook. All information is available at http://raspberrypiserver.no-ip.org/pian ... ntrol.html. Here are a couple of screenshots of the app in action

Image Image Image Image

tomw3115
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:08 pm

I'm a long-term Pandora fan and I've just started using Pianobar to listen to it recently. I've notice that I'm not hearing any commercials while using Pianobar. Is this right, or is it just my imagination? I normally tune out commecials so maybe I'm just not listening close enough.

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:28 am

tomw3115 wrote:I'm a long-term Pandora fan and I've just started using Pianobar to listen to it recently. I've notice that I'm not hearing any commercials while using Pianobar. Is this right, or is it just my imagination? I normally tune out commecials so maybe I'm just not listening close enough.
Yes, that's right, pianobar removes the commercials. If you want to support Pandora (which I think they deserve) you can get a Pandora One account.

CptPlastic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:19 am

Looks like its back to the same old TLS handshake issues again. I was using this sh script to find out the TLS fingerprint was.

To find out what the TLS handshake is.

Code: Select all

openssl s_client -connect tuner.pandora.com:443 < /dev/null 2> /dev/null | \
    openssl x509 -noout -fingerprint | tr -d ':' | cut -d'=' -f2
What it says

Code: Select all

2D0AFDAFA16F4B5C0A43F3CB1D4752F9535507C0
And now its not working???? Not sure if somehow things are cashed someplace but I have restarted everything. Any ideas how I can get rid of the dreaded.

Code: Select all

~/.config/pianobar $ pianobar
Welcome to pianobar (2012.05.06)! Press ? for a list of commands.
(i) Login... Network error: TLS read failed.
Here is my config...

Code: Select all

user = (myusername)
password = (mypassword)
event_command = /home/pi/.config/pianobar/eventcommand.sh
audio_quality = high
tls_fingerprint = 2D0AFDAFA16F4B5C0A43F3CB1D4752F9535507C0
#rpc_host = internal-tuner.pandora.com

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:49 am

CptPlastic wrote:And now its not working???? Not sure if somehow things are cashed someplace but I have restarted everything. Any ideas how I can get rid of the dreaded.
What version of pianobar are you using? I've had this issue with older versions of pianobar, still in certain repositories. Try to update to the latest version from git (see my website for instructions) and see if that solves it.

CptPlastic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:09 am

2012.05.06

Thats what it says when it logs on

CptPlastic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:14 am

sudo apt-get install pianobar

Thats what I did and I made the config file and working directory just like you explain on your site. I like how your site runs of the pi btw. Strange thing is that it was running fine before.

CptPlastic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:22 am

:oops: so I rebuilt it off your site and its now working. Not sure why but thank you sir.

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:49 am

CptPlastic wrote::oops: so I rebuilt it off your site and its now working. Not sure why but thank you sir.
Glad it worked out :)

Not sure from which pianobar version exactly this happens, I'll investigate it better later.

CptPlastic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:59 am

Here is a picture of the radio I am making if interested.

Thanks again

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B8KK9fQ ... sp=sharing

gregoryxxx
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 8:03 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Tue May 05, 2015 8:05 pm

Any chance the Android app might be updated to support Lollipop?

User avatar
azeam
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:13 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pianobar remote control

Wed May 06, 2015 10:31 am

gregoryxxx wrote:Any chance the Android app might be updated to support Lollipop?
I will definitely put it on the to-do-list, didn't even know that it wasn't supported. Unfortunately I haven't had time to update the app lately and I seem to have a stressful period ahead of me so I won't promise anything.

gregoryxxx
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 8:03 pm

Re: Pianobar remote control

Thu May 14, 2015 6:33 pm

Sorry to hear about the upcoming stressful period. Thanks for the current version!

Return to “Java”