Backdoorbobby

2 Pis running in parallel?

Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:49 pm

I'm pretty new to the computer world, but I have a lot of thing I would like to try to do. One thing I want to try is have two pis running in parallel to more smoothly emulate games, particularly gamecube which I have read is not the smoothest gameplay on retropi.

My question is, would it be possible to set up two pi's working together on the retropi operating system, and if so can anybody give me some tips?

thanks,
Bonby

DougieLawson

Re: 2 Pis running in parallel?

Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:55 pm

Sorry, it's not possible.

To use a loosely coupled cluster needs special programming and there's a whole bunch of overheads in running clustering that would swamp the diddy small slow processor and slow I/O subsystem on your RPis.
Note:The use of baseball bats for educational purposes is completely disallowed on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

Backdoorbobby

Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:03 pm

Thats for that lightning fast reply. Do you know if there are any alternatives to the raspberry pi which could be compatible with retro pi and possibly be able to handle games the pi couldn't?

DougieLawson

Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:32 pm

No. Try running on a bog end Windows system.
Note:The use of baseball bats for educational purposes is completely disallowed on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

Nfarrow

Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:28 am

It is very possible to cluster the Pis and use each resources on each but you would need to know how to use a clustering software called, "MPI http://www.mpich.org/" This software allows for multi-processing communication between computers.

Follow these instruction to get MPI working on the PIs
http://www.tinkernut.com/2014/04/27/mak ... -computer/

Now since you have, "MPI for Python" installed you need to find a Python emulator. Maybe try shedskin for a NES emu.
https://code.google.com/p/shedskin/downloads/list