Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

retropie adding roms

Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:40 pm

Hi there!
I've been having trouble with my pi for a while. I've got a computer screen (VGA) working with the pi, I've got a load of games working fine with a keyboard, but I'm soon getting the controls to work with an IPAC (for arcade controls)
So here's the problem:
As I said above, I've got games working but I want to add a few more, I've added them onto my pi using a USB stick and putting the games in the correct folders, but despite this, they won't show up on the menu? All old games show, but these ones?
Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:15 am

Do you own a PC?

RetroPie has samba shares enabled by default. You should be able to drag and drop roms in over an Ethernet connection. Most cable/dsl modems and routers have a few extra ports for you to plug into.

Also make sure the files are the correct format for the emulator. Some expect *.zip files and others want you to extract the rom.

Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:56 am

Thanks! I'll try the Ethernet connection today.

Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:18 am

Hi I'm having trouble adding ROMs via samba. I've typed ifconfig into the terminal but it doesn't give me an appropriate sounding address (I think the word is address) the number I'm given is:
127.0.0.1
Is that the number I should search for on my computer, or is there something I've done wrong? I don't have a WiFi adaptor plugged in right now, so is that what's missing?

Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:18 am

Hi I'm having trouble adding ROMs via samba. I've typed ifconfig into the terminal but it doesn't give me an appropriate sounding address (I think the word is address) the number I'm given is:
127.0.0.1
Is that the number I should search for on my computer, or is there something I've done wrong? I don't have a WiFi adaptor plugged in right now, so is that what's missing?

Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:05 am

OK I've got the pi connected via Ethernet cable, but can't put games on cos apparently there's no space? How can I fix that?

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: retropie adding roms

Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:44 pm

Link2001 wrote:OK I've got the pi connected via Ethernet cable, but can't put games on cos apparently there's no space? How can I fix that?
Did you expand your file system?

"sudo raspi-config" at the cli? Then select expand root file sytem?

What size is your SD?

Link2001
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: retropie adding roms

Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:10 am

Thanks for the suggestions! I've got a 16gb SD card, not even near full, so I didn't look into that. I tried another SD card with the ROMs, and it was that that was the problem. I guess I should of deleted the roms off the USB stick that I already had if I want to add more.

Return to “Gaming”