User avatar
DigitalLumberjack
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi,
I don't think my code should be pulled into the main source code, as it is a little bit ugly (let's consider it as a proof of concept). But as aloshi said, it's could be very easy for him to integrate internationalization in the next release, and to convert traduction files into c files.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:14 am

Found a bit of wrong info in the FAQ. It states...
Q. Can I make a portable installation of EmulationStation on Windows so I can get up to mischief at my local high school?

A. Yes! Download the ZIP archive from the download page and extract it to your portable drive. You can use the provided "run_portable.bat"
But there is no "run_portable.bat" file included in the installation anywhere and I can't find any mention of a portable install anywhere. Is this still possible and if so, how?

User avatar
Aloshi
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:38 pm

There is a "launch_portable.bat" file included in the Windows ZIP distribution. It's a simple .bat file:

Code: Select all

set HOME=%~dp0
emulationstation.exe
It just moves the "HOME" directory to the folder the executable is in - so it'll use the .emulationstation folder inside that folder.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:21 pm

Can i put wpagui on the home screen of emulationstation?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:52 pm

Aloshi wrote:There is a "launch_portable.bat" file included in the Windows ZIP distribution. It's a simple .bat file:

Code: Select all

set HOME=%~dp0
emulationstation.exe
It just moves the "HOME" directory to the folder the executable is in - so it'll use the .emulationstation folder inside that folder.
Thanks, it must be because I used the installer as I didn't have that file.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:35 pm

Again Can i put wpagui on the home screen of emulationstation? If so how do i do it?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 12, 2014 12:10 am

I've noticed Emulation Station (on a powerful PC) seems to take a long time to load (on the main big white loading screen). Is there a reason for this or any way around it?

User avatar
Aloshi
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:48 pm

expandables wrote:Again Can i put wpagui on the home screen of emulationstation? If so how do i do it?
Create a custom system in es_systems.cfg called "Utilities" or similar, have it point to a folder with bash scripts (.sh extension). Add a script that launches wpagui. More info here.
Enverex wrote:I've noticed Emulation Station (on a powerful PC) seems to take a long time to load (on the main big white loading screen). Is there a reason for this or any way around it?
This is a known issue if you have a lot of games. It's due to the inefficient way ES loads/saves metadata. An update is planned to fix it but I don't have much time right now.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:49 pm

No worries, as long as it's planned to be fixed and it's not a sign of something being broken :)

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:03 am

How do i add a script that launches wpagui? Can you post full tutorial on what to do?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:35 am

I am just a noob trying to learn, and I don't know how to add a script to launch wpagui. Can you please tell me the process in detail thanks!
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:20 pm

Also is it possible to get a pdf reader on screen to read game manuals? If so can some one post instructions on how to do this?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

airguitarhero
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:09 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:09 pm

robi wrote:Thanks for all of the hard work. This new version is really nice. However, the emulationstation screen is stretched too wide and tall on my tv. It's cutting off some of the menu items, and in the emulators it's cutting off the bottom of the screens. How do I configure it to be smaller? When I first boot, RetroPie is aligned to the left of the screen, but once emulationstation loads, it stretches off the edges, so when I go back to the command prompt, it's off the screen.
Hello - I'm a super noob and am having this same problem. I tried to do what Aloshi said in his reply to you but winscp won't allow me to edit the boot files. Can you give me an idea of how you ended up fixing this problem? I tried to understand the link you left in your reply to Aloshi but it's over my head. Sorry for my noobiness, thanks for your help!

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Oct 17, 2014 6:15 pm

expandables wrote:I am just a noob trying to learn, and I don't know how to add a script to launch wpagui. Can you please tell me the process in detail thanks!
Aloshi already responded to you, please read the thread.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:09 pm

Other question then regarding performance: When I start up Emulation Station, even when it's idle, it seems to cause the fans in my PC to spin-up so I assume it's eating CPU time for some reason. Is this avoidable at all? Considering it's sat at a basic screen doing nothing I can't see why it would be using anything at all.

User avatar
Aloshi
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 19, 2014 3:54 pm

Enverex wrote:Other question then regarding performance: When I start up Emulation Station, even when it's idle, it seems to cause the fans in my PC to spin-up so I assume it's eating CPU time for some reason. Is this avoidable at all? Considering it's sat at a basic screen doing nothing I can't see why it would be using anything at all.
There's no frame rate limiter right now. One work around is to launch it in full screen and force vsync with your video card driver. I'm considering making vsync on by default in the next release, but this will only work in full screen. I'd like to implement a frame limiter that works in windowed modes too, but I need a sub-millisecond timer to do it properly (I've experimented with using SDL_Delay which is a sleep call in milliseconds, but it's not accurate enough to avoid fluctuations).

kykkus
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:42 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:38 pm

Hi, I want to use the xbox joypad as keyboard, that correspond to each button on the joypad a key on the keyboard. Works in the terminal and in xbmc but Emulationstation did not recognize it either as a joypad as neither keyboard nor in the configuration wizard of the keys.

What have I to do?

Thanks.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:52 pm

How to disable console logging on emulationstation?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.


User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:59 pm

Anyway to have a clock/time on emulationstation screen?
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
DigitalLumberjack
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:14 am

Yes you should modify the source code :
https://github.com/Aloshi/EmulationStation

kykkus
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:42 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:48 am

Please, how use a xbox joypad as a keyboard in emulationstation?

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:58 pm

Any luck on the database rewrite yet Aloshi?

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:47 pm

airguitarhero wrote:
robi wrote:Thanks for all of the hard work. This new version is really nice. However, the emulationstation screen is stretched too wide and tall on my tv. It's cutting off some of the menu items, and in the emulators it's cutting off the bottom of the screens. How do I configure it to be smaller? When I first boot, RetroPie is aligned to the left of the screen, but once emulationstation loads, it stretches off the edges, so when I go back to the command prompt, it's off the screen.
Hello - I'm a super noob and am having this same problem. I tried to do what Aloshi said in his reply to you but winscp won't allow me to edit the boot files. Can you give me an idea of how you ended up fixing this problem? I tried to understand the link you left in your reply to Aloshi but it's over my head. Sorry for my noobiness, thanks for your help!
Use Putty to SSH into your Pi and edit the files that way.

kykkus
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:42 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:06 pm

Sorry for asking again but:
i would like to use the xbox 360 joypad as a keyboard, ie each button on the joypad should correspond to a key of the keyboard. I created a config file for xboxdrv and everything seems to work, emulators are ok, terminal is ok. Yet emulationstaton is not reading it. if i press any botton it gives no key, and if i use the guided installation it doesn't read the joypad as either joypad or keybord.

command xboxdvr:

Code: Select all

sudo xboxdrv --silent --wid 0 --config /home/pi/configuration/xboxdrv_mapping.ini --detach-kernel-driver --dbus session &
my xboxdrv_mapping.ini file is:

Code: Select all

[xboxdrv]
led = 2
silent = true
deadzone = 6000
dpad-as-button = true
trigger-as-button = true
extra-devices = false
extra-events = false
device-name = "Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller (PC)"

[ui-buttonmap]
A = KEY_ENTER
B = KEY_BACKSPACE
x = KEY_SPACE
y = KEY_X

lb = KEY_Q
rb = KEY_R

back = KEY_GRAVE
guide = KEY_ESC
start = KEY_I

du = KEY_LEFTBRACE
dd = KEY_RIGHTBRACE
dl = KEY_DOT
dr = KEY_COMMA

lt=KEY_5
rt=BTN_LEFT

[ui-axismap]
x2 = KEY_KPMINUS:KEY_KPPLUS
y2 = KEY_M:KEY_T
x1 = KEY_LEFT:KEY_RIGHT
y1 = KEY_UP:KEY_DOWN

# XBMC BUG SOLVE
LT^resp:127:255=ABS_Z
RT^resp:127:255=ABS_RZ

# EOF# 

Return to “Gaming”