KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Sun Jun 08, 2014 6:37 pm

I managed to figure out a fix so the controls work in Super Mario All-Stars and also doesn't break other games (Mario Kart, Super Bomberman etc). This problem has been bugging me for ages and I had to figure out a way to play this game for nostalgia sake. This fix will unfortunately mean player two controls wont work for other games (but I play alone anyway and this is for people with one controller). Simply post this in your blank retroarch.cfg in the snes folder. P.S Remember to change the button numbers/axis for you own controller. Also remember to do a reboot after this.

Code: Select all

input_player1_joypad_index = "0"
input_player1_b_btn = "2"
input_player1_y_btn = "3"
input_player1_select_btn = "8"
input_player1_start_btn = "9"
input_player1_up_axis = "-1"
input_player1_down_axis = "+1"
input_player1_left_axis = "-0"
input_player1_right_axis = "+0"
input_player1_a_btn = "1"
input_player1_x_btn = "0"
input_player1_l_btn = "4"
input_player1_r_btn = "5"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "8"
input_exit_emulator_btn = "9"

input_player2_joypad_index = "nul"
input_player2_b_btn = "nul"
input_player2_y_btn = "nul"
input_player2_select_btn = "nul"
input_player2_start_btn = "nul"
input_player2_up_axis = "nul"
input_player2_down_axis = "nul"
input_player2_left_axis = "nul"
input_player2_right_axis = "nul"
input_player2_a_btn = "nul"
input_player2_x_btn = "nul"
input_player2_l_btn = "nul"
input_player2_r_btn = "nul"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "nul"
input_exit_emulator_btn = "nul"

input_player1_a = "nul"
input_player1_b = "nul"
input_player1_y = "nul"
input_player1_x = "nul"
input_player1_start = "nul"
input_player1_select = "nul"
input_player1_l = "nul"
input_player1_r = "nul"
input_player1_left = "nul"
input_player1_right = "nul"
input_player1_up = "nul"
input_player1_down = "nul"
input_exit_emulator = "nul"

input_player2_a = "nul"
input_player2_b = "nul"
input_player2_y = "nul"
input_player2_x = "nul"
input_player2_start = "nul"
input_player2_select = "nul"
input_player2_l = "nul"
input_player2_r = "nul"
input_player2_left = "nul"
input_player2_right = "nul"
input_player2_up = "nul"
input_player2_down = "nul"
input_exit_emulator = "nul"
Last edited by KitchUK on Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:30 am, edited 3 times in total.

teeth_03
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:02 am

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (Controls Work!)

Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:15 pm

or just grab controller 2 when you go to play

(I have 2 USB SNES Controllers)

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (Controls Work!)

Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:11 am

teeth_03 wrote:or just grab controller 2 when you go to play

(I have 2 USB SNES Controllers)
Unfortunately I don't have two controllers :)

eway
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:53 am

What am i supposed to replace?

field where "nul" is or the other ones?

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:50 pm

To be honest this fix is way outdated now. It's much easier just to use the libretro-Snes9x-next core as this doesn't have any problems with All-Stars and it has better sound/performance for snes games.

If your using Retropie press 'x' when you load up the game and change the core.

eway
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:30 pm

okej, so no other way?

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:07 am

eway wrote:okej, so no other way?
Sorry no. I think this method was somehow patched out with an update. I remember trying it a while back and it stopped working. It would be much easier just using Snes9x-next. It's a much better core.

eway
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Super Mario All-Stars Fix (1 Player)

Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:41 pm

is there a guide to where to change core?

cant find Snes9x-next in my retropie 3.0 RC1 options.

only see these ones:

pisnes="/opt/retropie/emulators/pisnes/snes9x %ROM%"
snes9x="/opt/retropie/emulators/snes9x/snes9x %ROM%"
lr-armsnes="/opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/bin/retroarch -L /opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-armsnes/libpocketsnes.so --config /opt/retropie/configs/snes/retroarch.cfg %ROM%"
lr-catsfc="/opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/bin/retroarch -L /opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-catsfc/catsfc_libretro.so --config /opt/retropie/configs/snes/retroarch.cfg %ROM%"
lr-pocketsnes="/opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/bin/retroarch -L /opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-pocketsnes/libretro.so --config /opt/retropie/configs/snes/retroarch.cfg %ROM%"
default="lr-pocketsnes"

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests