armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:11 am

Hi!

We are the Armiga Project Team. To celebrate the Amiga Day, we have developed Uae4Armiga4Pi, which is a version of the uae ported and modified for the Armiga Project, adapted for the Raspberry Pi. This version is distributed with no support, just to give an idea of Uae4Armiga.
Link: http://www.armigaproject.com/pi/pi.html

This version does not support FDD loading and browsing. USB plug&play support isn't included either.

The performance you can expect is around 30fps, but please note for doing this we've changed fameC core and compatibility issues my arise.

Uae4Armiga is based on Uae4All, made by Chui!

Follow us on:
·www.armigaproject.com
·www.facebook.com/armigaproject
·www.twitter.com/armigaproject

Enjoy!

From the README file:
BEFORE YOU START:
-Install SDL:
Uae4Armiga makes use of DSL libs, so maybe you need to install them. For doing so, just run the next commands:

Code: Select all

	sudo apt-get update
	sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2debian
	sudo apt-get install libsdl-mixer1.2
	sudo apt-get install libsdl-ttf2.0-0
If asked for root password, default is "raspberry" for raspbian

-Set resolution to 720p and enable HDMI audio:
----------------------------------------------
You'll need to force 720p output on the Raspberry and the HDMI audio if you want sound :). For doing this, edit the boot config file:

Code: Select all

	sudo nano /boot/config.txt
Uncomment the framebuffer_width and framebuffer_height lines if commented and set the right values:

Code: Select all

	framebuffer_width=1280
	framebuffer_height=720
Uncomment the hdmi_drive line and set the right value:

Code: Select all

	hdmi_drive=2
Most likely you'll need to comment any overscan line:

Code: Select all

	#overscan_left=24
	#overscan_right=24
	#overscan_top=16
	#overscan_bottom=16
-Reboot your Pi:
----------------

Code: Select all

	sudo reboot
-Get Kickstart1.3:
The Armiga will be distributed with a legal copy of Kickstart1.3, but this version isn't, so you'll need to get it yourself.

For doing so, we suggest licensing it from AmigaForever:

Once you have the ROM, just rename it to kick.rom and place it in the same folder where uae4armiga4pi is.

LAUNCHING UAE4ARMIGA4Pi:
Once everything is setup, just launch uae4armiga4pi by typing

Code: Select all

uae4armiga4pi
USING THE MENU:
-Moving: Use your keyboard arrows or joystick/gamepad d-pad (please note analog controllers may fail)
-Selecting options: Just press RETURN on your keyboard or BUTTON 1 on your joystick/gamepad
-Go back: Press ESC on your keyboard or BUTTON 2 on your joystick/gamepad
-Returning to emulator without restarting it: From the main menu, press ESC on your keyboard or BUTTON 2 on your joystick/gamepad
-Changing graphic filter: By default, pixeldoubler is enabled. To change it, use the F keys in the main menu:
·F1: Pixel Doubler
·F2: Scanline
·F3: Scanline 50%
·F4: Scanline 80%

USING THE EMULATOR:
You can use your USB mouse, joystick/gamepad/keyboard as in a real Amiga, however, some things must me noticed:

-Using the Virtual Mouse: If you don't have a real mouse, just press TAB in your keyboard and you enter the virtual mouse mode. Move the mouse with the arrows and use L_SHIFT and L_CTRL as buttons
-Virtual Amiga Keyboard: While default keyboard works most of the times, some games are a bit "special". By hitting BACKSPACE you enter the virtual keyboard mode. Move over the keyboard with the keys and use them by pressing SPACE
-Virtual Joystick: By default, a joystick is emulated with the keyboard. Just use the arrows to move and L_CTRL and SPACE as buttons
-Going back to the menu: Press F11 of BUTTON 3 on your joystick/
gamepad
-Changing disk: Go to the main menu (F11 / BUTTON 3), browse your ADFs folder, select the image you want (RETURN / BUTTON 1) and go back to the emulator (ESC / BUTTON 2)
-Change game and restart: Go to the main menu (F11 / BUTTON 3), browse your ADFs folder, select the image you want (RETURN / BUTTON 1) , move to the bottom-center option in the main menu and press RETURN or BUTTON 1


ADDING ADFs:
Just copy your .adf files to the ADFs folder inside uae4armiga4pi.

You can do this from inside the Pi, connecting via FTP from your computer or browsing the Pi SD card from your computer.

ADDING COVERS:
Game covers should be stored in the COVERs folder inside uae4armiga4all and will show in the menu if they match the game name. So you'll need to set the cover name exactly the same as the game file name, including extension, + .jpg.

The height of the image must be 420px and the maximum width should be 380px.

Vanfanel
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:04 am

Amiga emulated at half the framerate of the original machine... :| No, thanks.

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:20 pm

armigaproject
Looks very interesting, I will add some info and a link in the Emulation on the Raspberry Pi Thread. Hopefully it will increase awareness of the Project!
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:56 pm

welshy wrote:armigaproject
Looks very interesting, I will add some info and a link in the Emulation on the Raspberry Pi Thread. Hopefully it will increase awareness of the Project!
Thanks welshy. We have worked a lot to get a playable emulator. The first Armiga prototype was based on a Raspberry Pi and we did some very nice things with it, but it came a time when it no longer was an option.

Image

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:33 pm

armigaproject
Ops! Just downloaded, as the post suggested installing various sdl libs I assumed it was Source Code! Have moved in the Emulation Thread to Pre Compiled Binaries.
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:06 am

First of all!
It's a huge project with an awesome idea (Case with floppy drive!), more retro it's impossible!

I'm trying to loading some few games but whatever way I choose to load the game didn't work! (Floppy, SD or USB Flash Drive).

I'm running it on RPi using SD card only.

Any ideia what's happening? Is there a compatibility game list?

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:57 am

Dear mgoulart, can you please list the games you're trying so we can test them?

Regarding the compatibility list, we are refreshing it for the new web, but try any of these:

Speebball2
SensibleSoccer
CannonFodder
MonkeyIsland
KickOff2
Lemmings2
Turrican
Turrican2
Flashback
Defender of the Crown
Agony
Zool
SWIV
Dune
Wings of Fury
Eye of the Beholder
Gods
Populous 2
Nuclear War
Wings
Giana Sisters
Interphase
It Came from the Desert
Blood Money
Narco Police
Rubicon
4D Sports Driving
Ancient Art of War in the Skies
Pacific Islands
Celtic Legends
Corporation
Armourgeddon
Hybris
F-19 Stealth Fighter
Lure of Tempress
Sleep Walker
Supremacy
A Train
Pang
M1 Tank Platoon
Cruise for a Corpse
Theme Park

That's the list of the games that worked without a glitch in the 50 most voted games by armigaproject.com visitors.

Please also note that it seems to heavily depend on the cracker whether a game works or not.

Thanks and regards!

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:01 am

Sure!
Alien Breed and Sensible Soccer.
When I start the games, appears a black screen and freezes on it!

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:08 am

mgoulart wrote:Sure!
Alien Breed and Sensible Soccer.
When I start the games, appears a black screen and freezes on it!
Have you placed Kisckstart 1.3 rom on the right folder?

From the readme file:

Code: Select all

Once you have the ROM, just rename it to kick.rom and place it in the same folder where uae4armiga4pi is.
Alien Breed and Sensible Soccer work on Armiga.

Regards.

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:08 pm

Will there be support for Project X. I used to love playing that on my old 1200. Good memories :D

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:29 pm

I'm using Kickstarter 1.3 and I placed kick.rom file on the same folder of uae4armiga4pi binary file. I'm not using the amiga forever version.

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:54 pm

We've double checked it again and everything is fine.

Can you please try to launch uae4armiga4pi and hit ESC without selecting any image?. Can you see the Kickstart 1.3 image?

If you can't see the image, it seems like either you don't have a valir 1.3 ROM or your user cannot access it. Try fixing premissions with sudo chmod 555 kick.rom

Regards!

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:02 pm

Wow nice! I will try it later!

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:45 pm

Hi!

We have tested again making a clean raspbian installation through noobs.

We are using a Model B. Just do this after installation:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2debian
sudo apt-get install libsdl-mixer1.2
sudo apt-get install libsdl-ttf2.0-0

Code: Select all

sudo nano /boot/config.txt
Uncomment the framebuffer_width and framebuffer_height lines if commented and set the right values:

Code: Select all

framebuffer_width=1280
framebuffer_height=720
Uncomment the hdmi_drive line and set the right value:

Code: Select all

hdmi_drive=2
Most likely you'll need to comment any overscan line:

Code: Select all

   #overscan_left=24
   #overscan_right=24
   #overscan_top=16
   #overscan_bottom=16
Remember to save the file (Ctr+X and Yes)

Code: Select all

sudo reboot
After reboot transfer files to raspberry or unzip the file. Structure must be like this:
armiga_structure.png
armiga_structure.png (38.03 KiB) Viewed 11178 times
And permissions:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ ls -la
total 52
drwxr-xr-x 6 pi   pi   4096 Jun  5 20:26 .
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Jan  1  1970 ..
-rw------- 1 pi   pi    289 Jun  5 20:29 .bash_history
-rw-r--r-- 1 pi   pi    220 Jan  7 21:10 .bash_logout
-rw-r--r-- 1 pi   pi   3243 Jan  7 21:10 .bashrc
drwxr-xr-x 2 pi   pi   4096 Jan  1  1970 Desktop
-rw-r--r-- 1 pi   pi   5781 Feb  3  2013 ocr_pi.png
-rw-r--r-- 1 pi   pi    675 Jan  7 21:10 .profile
drwx------ 2 pi   pi   4096 Jun  5 20:32 .pulse
-rw------- 1 pi   pi    256 Jun  5 20:26 .pulse-cookie
drwxrwxr-x 2 pi   pi   4096 Jan  1  1970 python_games
drwxr-xr-x 5 pi   pi   4096 Jun  5 20:26 uae4armiga4pi

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ cd uae4armiga4pi/
[email protected] ~/uae4armiga4pi $ ls -la
total 1612
drwxr-xr-x 5 pi pi    4096 Jun  5 20:26 .
drwxr-xr-x 6 pi pi    4096 Jun  5 20:26 ..
drwxr-xr-x 3 pi pi    4096 Jun  5 20:31 ADFs
drwxr-xr-x 2 pi pi    4096 Jun  5 20:31 COVERs
drwxr-xr-x 2 pi pi    4096 Jun  5 20:22 data
-rw-r----- 1 pi pi  524288 Jun  5 20:23 kick.rom
-rwxr-xr-x 1 pi pi    4612 Jun  5 20:22 README.txt
-rw-r--r-- 1 pi pi      12 Jun  5 20:32 sys.tmp
-rwxr-xr-x 1 pi pi 1092252 Jun  5 20:22 uae4armiga4pi
Regards

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:35 am

Unfortunately, didn't work for me! :(

For testing porpuse, I'm using Kickstart v1.3 rev 34.5 (1987)(Commodore)(A3000).rom (256 Kb). I renamed the file to kick.rom and I changed the permission settings like you suggest but when I load a game or press ESC freezes on Black Screen.

armigaproject
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:55 am

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:46 am

mgoulart wrote:Unfortunately, didn't work for me! :(

For testing porpuse, I'm using Kickstart v1.3 rev 34.5 (1987)(Commodore)(A3000).rom (256 Kb). I renamed the file to kick.rom and I changed the permission settings like you suggest but when I load a game or press ESC freezes on Black Screen.
You should use this:
Kickstart v1.3 r34.5 (1987)(Commodore)(A500-A1000-A2000-CDTV)[!].rom
SHA-1: 891e9a547772fe0c6c19b610baf8bc4ea7fcb785

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:07 am

My file:

Code: Select all

> sha1sum Kickstart v1.3 r34.5 (1987)(Commodore)(A500-A1000-A2000-CDTV)[!].rom

891e9a547772fe0c6c19b610baf8bc4ea7fcb785  
Kickstart v1.3 r34.5 (1987)(Commodore)(A500-A1000-A2000-CDTV)[!].rom
Renamed it to "kick.rom", changed the permissions (sudo chmod 555 kick.rom)

And still not working for me :(

Is it necessary to change the uae4armiga4pi folder permission? Is it necessary to put ADF files inside folders?

For example:

Code: Select all

/home/pi/RetroPie/emulators/uae4armiga4pi/ADFs/AlienBreed/
I modified some configurations on RPi (Frequencies, GPU Memory, Over Voltage, Avoid Safe Mode), is it maybe causing this problem?

User avatar
Trixster
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:31 pm

256kb for the kickstart rom doesn't look big enough to me.

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Sun Jun 08, 2014 2:55 am

I got this felling about the file size! But all Kickstart files that I found had 256kb!

tristan202
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:40 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:42 pm

ERROR: This is not a Raspberry Pi!

Model b running arch. Entered the suggested values into config.txt.

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:01 am

tristan202
Welcome to the Forum! I think you will find its not ARCH Distro compatible as its Debian based, use with Raspbian Wheezy (Debian).
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

tristan202
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:40 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:18 pm

welshy wrote:tristan202
Welcome to the Forum! I think you will find its not ARCH Distro compatible as its Debian based, use with Raspbian Wheezy (Debian).
What exactly makes it incompatible? If required packages are installed, it ought to work. Any chance the source is available anywhere so I can modify it to work on arch?

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:57 pm

tristan202 wrote:What exactly makes it incompatible? If required packages are installed, it ought to work. Any chance the source is available anywhere so I can modify it to work on arch?
The Binary has obviously been compiled for Wheezy (Debian), that why it wont work in ARCH, it seems Armiga Project Team haven't released the Source Code. The UAE4ALL Source Code is available (just do a quick search) but obviously wont contain the Custom GUI.
Last edited by welshy on Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

tristan202
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:40 pm

Re: UAE4ARMIGA4PI - Amiga Emulator for RPI

Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:00 pm

welshy wrote:
tristan202 wrote:What exactly makes it incompatible? If required packages are installed, it ought to work. Any chance the source is available anywhere so I can modify it to work on arch?
The Binary has obviously been compiled for Wheezy (Debian), that why it wont work in ARCH, it seems they haven't released the Source Code. The UAE4ALL Source Code is available (just do a quick search) but obviously wont contain the Custom GUI.
I'm already running uae4all with a custom script to symlink images to df0 and launch it, from inside emulationstation. But I like the screenshots from this one, and would like to try it, but I'm not that keen on Debian. I'll just have to wait and see if the source gets released.

Return to “Gaming”