Page 1 of 1

retropie

Posted: Sat May 03, 2014 3:39 pm
by Link2001
Hi all! I've just joined this website and don't really know how to use it... But any way, this is what ive done: I've downloaded retropie and got loads of SNES and NES and GB and GBC games using a USB stick, I'm going to use and IPAC2 for my arcade machine, I've got a keyboard for the games, but here are the problems:
1- GBA BIOS?!? I don't even know what that IS?!? Saying I've got to have a certain one, BLAH BLAH! But what do I have to do with it?
2- my games don't SAVE?!? I haven't tried much programming yet, but I suppose I'll have to wait for my IPAC
3- does IPAC work with the emulators above? Plus can it save and load?
Please help as I really want to have a working arcade machine, any and all help will be appreciated!

Re: retropie

Posted: Sat May 03, 2014 8:02 pm
by Jessie
2. Which emulators are you using? The standard RetroArch cores? I have no issue with saving, it should just save to your SD card. If you are using RetroArch try hitting F1 on a KB and making sure auto save on exit is turned on.

Re: retropie

Posted: Sun May 04, 2014 12:32 pm
by Link2001
K, thanks but how do I check that auto save? Plus I don't really know what emulators they are, I just put ROMs on, I think its snes9x or something? :?

Re: retropie

Posted: Sun May 04, 2014 12:41 pm
by Link2001
Hi, I just tried f1 on keyboard, selected save state, but keeps on saying:
Failed to load state?!?!?

Re: retropie

Posted: Sun May 04, 2014 12:56 pm
by Link2001
Also, I am using the retroarch emulators.

Re: retropie

Posted: Sun May 04, 2014 5:40 pm
by Jessie
When you hit F1 and go in the menu x is the confirm button. So you would go down to save on exit and hit x. I'm not sure why it isn't enter or space for confirm but it is what it is. I've never used the save and load states options so I'm not sure how or if they work. Once I turned on save on exit every game that shipped with save game options worked as they did origianally did.

Re: retropie

Posted: Sun May 04, 2014 5:42 pm
by Link2001
Thanks! I'll try the 'save on exit' option later! :D

Re: retropie

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:47 am
by Link2001
Save on exit didn't work?!? I can't save on exit no matter how many times I try it?!?

Re: retropie

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 10:28 am
by Link2001
Hi, I attempted to configure a hotkey, load and save slots, but every time I try to get onto LXDE (by typing: startx) my pi goes black for a few minutes, but then goes back to LOADS of script!?!?

Re: retropie

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:00 pm
by Jessie
What are you using LXDE with retropie for? Editing files, browsing directories? I have never had to fire up x server on my emulation cab. I can't help you with LXDE because I never use it. Some apps just refuse to run under x windows and emulationstation and retroarch may be two of them but I don't know.

Re: retropie

Posted: Thu May 08, 2014 5:43 pm
by Link2001
I will be using it to configure controls for the IPAC and hopefully even save and load states/ slots soon