aquamarinist

GameBro - A Pi in a GameBoy.

Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:44 pm

Hello, fellow forum users! This is my very first project using the Raspberry Pi, and actually, my first time working with things like plastic and circuitry. My goal is to turn an old original GameBoy into a portable computer, and a gaming system.

Project Goals:

- To replace the original buttons with those of a 3DS, with the exception of the start and select buttons (probably from the DSi).
- To utilize the power switch to actually power on the device, and have an LED indicate that it is on, or that it is low on power.
- To replace the screen with a small LCD around 3" wide, although I'm not going to be picky about resolution.
- To have the screen run via RCA or GPIO, with an HDMI lead-out.
- To use the volume dial and audio jack that comes with the device, to replace the speaker, and to have these all functioning normally.
- To use a powered USB hub to power the Pi itself, as well as having at least one USB lead-out.
- To have a small USB wifi adapter on the top of the device, opposite the power switch.
- To have an Ethernet lead-out.
- To add shoulder buttons somewhere on the device (I am not sure where yet.)
- To use the cartridge slot to load the SD card, if possible. (I've ordered a GameBoy game that i can rip the label off of and take the chip out, for the purpose of fitting it to hold an SD card so that putting it into the device simaeltaneously slides the SD card into the proper slot.
- To remove as many components from the Pi as I can to conserve space, by directly soldering cords to the board itself. (I imagine this will be extremely tricky for the Ethernet and HDMI parts.)

General Goals:

- To have it all fit neatly within the device, without having to use anything to bind it together.
- To make it functional and easy to use.
- To have it look at least decent.
- To make it fully portable, with the option to plug it in to charge it.
- To prevent it from overheating too quickly.