Page 2 of 5

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:54 pm
by blc
Will definitely be keeping an eye on this :).

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:42 pm
by Henrik42
romans8 wrote:i got the game running, yes it lags quite a bit. we need to change some of the code so it will run more smoothly. :ugeek: also everything is white i don't know it this is because i didn't copy a file over or it is a shader or texture issue.
Can't wait for this to run nicely on the pi! :D
How much memory have reserved for the GPU? I needed to set it to at least 128MB to get it to work.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:50 am
by romans8
I had just updated my raspbian manually so it was a clean start i installed jedi academy and ran it. i did try overclocking it to the 2nd notch and that didn't help at all (at least not noticeably) . should i try giving the GPU more memory?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:01 pm
by Henrik42
I checked my settings and i used gpu_mem=256.
You definitely need to increase it from the default.
I played with some "extreme" overclocking and got pretty decent framerates in Outcast until the Pi crashed and the SD was corrupted.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:18 am
by romans8
Henrik42 wrote:I checked my settings and i used gpu_mem=256.
You definitely need to increase it from the default.
I played with some "extreme" overclocking and got pretty decent framerates in Outcast until the Pi crashed and the SD was corrupted.
Very encouraging.... now all we need is the multi-player one working! and it running nicely without overclocking.

edit about and hour later: What if we could run in from the terminal that could get a little more performance?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:35 am
by romans8
:arrow: Bump
Any idea if we can run it outside of the desktop?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:49 pm
by Henrik42
romans8 wrote::arrow: Bump
Any idea if we can run it outside of the desktop?
It's easy to remove the X stuff from the graphics initialization but the window is used to get mouse and keyboard events so you would need to change those parts to use SDL or something like that.

Another thing that needs changing is the sound. Now it only works when you enable 3d-sound, and that seems to be to much for the Pi. It might be possible to run it with OSS emulation.

I don't have time to work on this right now, but i will look in to it when I get a chance, but I doubt that I will have much time before next year.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:41 am
by romans8
Man i wish i knew more about this kind of stuff. i also wish you could get payed for getting games running on the pi then you would get some free time ;)

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:01 am
by raspberrypilot
Hi There,

I followed the instructions on how to compile and CMake came with a warning. It returned:
Manually Specified Variables were not used by the project:
RASPBERRY
I then went ahead and tried the make file anyway and that encountered a couple of compiler errors that halted the process.

Any Ideas? I really want this running on my pi! Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:37 pm
by Henrik42
raspberrypilot wrote:Hi There,

I followed the instructions on how to compile and CMake came with a warning. It returned:
Manually Specified Variables were not used by the project:
RASPBERRY
I then went ahead and tried the make file anyway and that encountered a couple of compiler errors that halted the process.

Any Ideas? I really want this running on my pi! Any help would be appreciated.
It seems like you downloaded the original sources from github. You need my modified sources from the links below the github links.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:18 am
by romans8
There is also a link for one that is already compiled i used both.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:03 pm
by ulysess
romans8 wrote:There is also a link for one that is already compiled i used both.
Where can I get a precompiled binary?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:56 pm
by Henrik42

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:46 pm
by dan3008
Academy and outcast??? I think i just died and went to pi gaming heaven...

they are my 2 favourite games ever :D

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:05 am
by romans8
Note that to get good FPS run it with slight overclocking on a level without water and without sound turned on.

Still think we could get it to run better in console :geek:

can't wait till the guy getting it to run on pi gets the MP running :ugeek:

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 7:00 pm
by Oldbitcollector
Thank you for posting the binaries.

I did a fair amount of bumbling along to get the pk3 files correctly updated and in the correct folder. (I was working with an older version of Outcast.)

I added a page to my blog about it, hopefully it will save someone else the extra hour of frustration to get this working.

Only Outcast so far, I ran out of time after I finally got it working then got my head handed to me by a Stormtrooper.

Jeff

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:01 am
by romans8
LOL well glad outcast is working for you. i only own academy (sadly :( ) when we get it running with better FPS and the multilayer part i want to get movie battles 2 running on it.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:51 am
by robotmaker
Okay, so I don't see almost any progress going on this and I have my Pi bundled right now and a slight lack of time, so here's an idea: The raspberry pi contest is going on instructables (http://www.instructables.com/contest/RaspberryPi/) and I think it would be a good idea to put this as an entry and mention the lag and the need for more programming and possibly a link to this forum question to show progress. This doesn't have to win, just get out to people. If it does, there'll be more people working faster, hence, a prize for us all, and whoever makes the entry can brag to everyone that they got this going good.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:42 am
by romans8
Great idea! lets try it!

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:48 am
by griz
Any more progress here guys? Jedi Knight on the Pi would be totally awesome.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:05 pm
by romans8
None as of yet i have a written tutorial on my computer on how to get it running but it lags around water. we need someone to edit it so it runs better on the PI (and get multiplayer running!)

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:02 pm
by Forgotten01
Hi, a simple question for you, what do I need to run this, and what commands do I use to start it?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:33 am
by romans8
Ok to begin you have to download this file: http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/JediAca ... nux.tar.gz
inside is a new exe file built for linex and a few dll files put them in a folder called JKA (or jedi academy whatever you want) on your Pi.

then take your base folder from your install of jedi academy on PC and put the base folder in the JKA folder on your pi then start the exe file and your are done!


Now in this state the game will run slowly so in the console enter: sudo raspi-config
then change the ram and make it higher and overclock the pi slightly.
the game will now run a little more smoothly.

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:30 pm
by Forgotten01
What do you recommend for gpu memory?

Re: Jedi Knight?

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:18 pm
by romans8
umm i have tried the highest and 2nd highest. forget what worked better