MCbookworm
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:44 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:36 pm

Whenever I try to run the game I get this in my terminal:

Code: Select all

JA: v1.0.1.0 linux-arm Sep 14 2013
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/pi/.jk3-ja/base
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/japlus_gla_anims.pk3 (6 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets3.pk3 (16 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets2.pk3 (62 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets1.pk3 (8320 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets0.pk3 (15346 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base

----------------------
23750 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec jaconfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...loading libGLES_CM.so: Starting QGL(GLES)...
using default screen 0
setting up EGL window
* failed to add service - already in use?

preflex
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 6:38 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Feb 04, 2018 5:48 am

MCbookworm wrote:
Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:36 pm
Whenever I try to run the game I get this in my terminal:

Code: Select all

JA: v1.0.1.0 linux-arm Sep 14 2013
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/pi/.jk3-ja/base
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/japlus_gla_anims.pk3 (6 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets3.pk3 (16 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets2.pk3 (62 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets1.pk3 (8320 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base/assets0.pk3 (15346 files)
/home/pi/Academy_Compiled/base

----------------------
23750 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec jaconfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...loading libGLES_CM.so: Starting QGL(GLES)...
using default screen 0
setting up EGL window
* failed to add service - already in use?
You need to disable the VC4 OpenGL driver. To do this, you can comment out dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d in your /boot/config.txt, or use raspi-config.

preflex
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 6:38 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:17 am

Here are builds which should work with the VC4 OpenGL driver. They are slower than the others.
Windowed mode works in Jedi Academy, but not in Jedi Outcast

Jedi Outcast:
Binary: https://mega.nz/#!Z4412CSQ!bP2ZN6AUJ3PR ... Y5AuymEYjA
Source: https://mega.nz/#!l44WkZoT!_OpME9n1O0Ov ... zey8-y7-mE

Jedi Academy:
Binary: https://mega.nz/#!h9BjTQwC!CozwDF7Joh3v ... TM13z9qyE4
Source: https://mega.nz/#!dhh0yLbC!lJd552-kifNi ... -GhOu3hzpo

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5149
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Jedi Knight?

Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:39 pm

preflex wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:17 am
Here are builds which should work with the VC4 OpenGL driver. They are slower than the others.
Windowed mode works in Jedi Academy, but not in Jedi Outcast
What is the difference in fps between the two drivers?

preflex
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 6:38 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:47 am

Sorry, due to housing problems, :-( I don't know when I'll be able to check it out, because I don't currently have access to my display or a power outlet.

The difference is noticable, but not severe. Checking it out for yourself is only a quick edit to /boot/config.txt and a reboot away.

totalidiocy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:55 pm

I copied the base folder to the Jedi Academy directory. I've tried every driver in raspi-config, Default gives me a white screen until I Alt-F4, Full KMS loads into the main menu but all I see is white boxes, and Fake KMS does the same thing. My GPU has a memory split of 256MB of VRAM and I have a Pi 3. I have no idea what to do. :x :x :x

totalidiocy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:35 pm

totalidiocy wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:55 pm
I copied the base folder to the Jedi Academy directory. I've tried every driver in raspi-config, Default gives me a white screen until I Alt-F4, Full KMS loads into the main menu but all I see is white boxes, and Fake KMS does the same thing. My GPU has a memory split of 256MB of VRAM and I have a Pi 3. I have no idea what to do. :x :x :x
I'm good now. :D I was putting the base folder in the wrong directory. Thank you all who were involved in this project and thank you for making it so easy!

MCbookworm
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:44 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed May 16, 2018 9:08 am

Thanks for the help, I've got it running now.
I've also been wondering, has anyone figured out how to use mods?

totalidiocy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon May 28, 2018 6:07 am

MCbookworm wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 9:08 am
Thanks for the help, I've got it running now.
I've also been wondering, has anyone figured out how to use mods?
I got evolution of combat 3 "working" but all the textures are white and I don't know why. :?: :?: :?:

RogerRoger420
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:22 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:27 pm

I got the pre-compiled files in /home/pi/Jk2 I got all the assest.pk3 files in /home/pi/JK2 (also from update 1.04) and i did the library commands but when i cd to the JK2 folder and type: ./JK2SP it says that it can't run because it's missing libEGL.so library. Does anyone know what i did wrong?

d_a_v_e
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:00 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:10 am

I'm having trouble finding the precompiled tar.gz files anywhere on the internet. When I click the links nothing happens. I have tried just using the tar command in the command line as follows: tar zxvf http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/Outcast_Compiled.tar.gz

but i get this error:

tar (child): Cannot connect to http: resolve failed

gzip: stdin: unexpected end of file
tar: Child returned status 128
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

So do these files still exist or have they been pulled from the internet? I'd like to know if I want to spend time on this or if it is a lost cause. Thanks in advance for any feedback

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 12810
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Ankh-Morpork

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:37 pm

d_a_v_e wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:10 am
So do these files still exist or have they been pulled from the internet?
Download fails for me. Could be a server is down, or maybe they have gone. Posting just to let you know that it's not just you.

d_a_v_e
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:00 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:11 am

rpdom wrote:
d_a_v_e wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:10 am
So do these files still exist or have they been pulled from the internet?
Download fails for me. Could be a server is down, or maybe they have gone. Posting just to let you know that it's not just you.
Thank you for the response. This is an old thread so it is understandable. I just wish there were more current information on how to install, or that I had more programming knowledge XD I did get the game to launch with the binary provided above and my game pak files that I own, but for some reason opengl keeps uprendering the video output to 1824 x 984 even though in the .cfg file I have it set to 640 x 420 and windowed. I read that in the terminal output. It puts out like 0.2 fps, in other words I cant even navigate the main menu. I may try downloading the source code and messing around with it a bit before I give up.

Rasilon
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:30 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:57 pm

Did anyone make the originals? Jedi knight dark forces 1 and 2. amazing games for the time.

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests