User avatar
robotmaker
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:49 pm

Jedi Knight?

Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:07 pm

I was looking at the OpenPandora page a while ago and saw that they started porting Jedi Knight to opengl es http://www.pandoralive.info/?p=1339
I couldn't find anyone else who had asked a similar question, probably for the same reason they didn't ask about the Pandora. I would really like to play Jedi Knight 1. 2. or 3 here! It would look really cool and be fun to impress friends with Jedi knight and quake! :D
I'm hungry. Pi anyone?

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:44 pm

I think that might run well on the Pi.

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:54 am

Looks like they may have started already
https://github.com/Razish/OpenJK <-- there's a renderer for the Raspberry Pi for OpenJK
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

Lexusjjss
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:55 am

Has anyone given it a try yet?

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:33 am

SirLagz wrote:Looks like they may have started already
https://github.com/Razish/OpenJK <-- there's a renderer for the Raspberry Pi for OpenJK
Are you sure? I just see mention that "rd-raspberry" is a reserved name for a future renderer and what looks like a request for a volunteer.
Can you find any raspbnerry pi specific code?

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:25 pm

dom wrote:
SirLagz wrote:Looks like they may have started already
https://github.com/Razish/OpenJK <-- there's a renderer for the Raspberry Pi for OpenJK
Are you sure? I just see mention that "rd-raspberry" is a reserved name for a future renderer and what looks like a request for a volunteer.
Can you find any raspbnerry pi specific code?
Derp, skimmed over the site. Sorry !
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

draconis
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:34 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:29 pm

They have more than started. There have been a couple of versions already.

http://boards.openpandora.org/index.php ... i-outcast/

User avatar
robotmaker
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:58 pm

As far as I can see, there shouldn't be anything stopping this from being playable on the pi! So, is there anyone with a prepared pi and more than an hour of time? (Because obviously, if you get this working, you're going to want to play it). I plan to test it as soon as I finish helping my grandpa and sitting in a car 20+ minutes to his house. If I can't get it to work, my uncle :geek: should be able to show me how! I'll update as soon as I can test it! :D
I'm hungry. Pi anyone?

6677
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:05 pm

robotmaker wrote:As far as I can see, there shouldn't be anything stopping this from being playable on the pi! So, is there anyone with a prepared pi and more than an hour of time? (Because obviously, if you get this working, you're going to want to play it). I plan to test it as soon as I finish helping my grandpa and sitting in a car 20+ minutes to his house. If I can't get it to work, my uncle :geek: should be able to show me how! I'll update as soon as I can test it! :D
Will probably take more than an hour to port, let alone compile.

But should be playable once someone does.

Museste
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:58 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:17 pm

Good luck. Cant wait to play this!

User avatar
robotmaker
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:59 pm

What parts need to be ported? It's already Linux, opengles, and ARM and if you search on the site, they've done a lot more work on some versions. Maybe someone here knows someone who has time and can port whatever needs to be ported?
I'm hungry. Pi anyone?

romans8
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:54 am

I would try and help get it running but i have no idea where to start (Python and mapping for it doesn't help)

If we could get jedi academy running that would make my day! just think modding it and playing MB2 on the raspberry pi!
Raspberry Pi model B rev 2 running Raspbian (8 GB sd) and a risc os (2GB sd)

rondadon
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:45 pm

Wow. I remeber how much fun this game made on the several LAN parties i participated in.

Would really want to see this game working on the rpi.

Thank you for the info.

romans8
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Sep 02, 2013 3:23 am

Bump i am sure many people would love this game for the pi and there is a modding effort to make Jedi outcast playable with the Jedi knight Jedi academy engine so getting one to work would get the other to work :)
Raspberry Pi model B rev 2 running Raspbian (8 GB sd) and a risc os (2GB sd)

User avatar
robotmaker
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:26 pm

Does anyone know what has to be ported? It helps to know before you try. I might start trying to learn about it to do it if I know. As I said before, it's still opengle, arm, and Linux. Anybody got the knowledge and willing to share? :D
I'm hungry. Pi anyone?

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:56 pm

robotmaker wrote:Does anyone know what has to be ported? It helps to know before you try. I might start trying to learn about it to do it if I know. As I said before, it's still opengle, arm, and Linux. Anybody got the knowledge and willing to share? :D
Extract the initialisation code from /opt/vc/src/hello_pi/hello_triangle (the stuff that calls dispmanx). Insert it in Jedi Knight initialisation. Compile it (making sure you link with GLES from /opt/vc/lib). Job done!

Well, there may be a few more obstacles, but I would have thought a couple of evening's work would be enough.
I doubt there's be more than a few dozen lines of R-Pi specific code at the end of it.

Henrik42
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:04 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:24 pm

I downloaded the sources for the Pandora ports from https://github.com/ptitSeb/JediOutcastLinux and https://github.com/ptitSeb/JediAcademyLinux and made some changes to make it compile and run on the Pi.
I have not made any attempts at optimization and it runs rather slowly.

http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/Academy_Compiled.tar.gz
http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/JediAca ... nux.tar.gz
http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/Outcast_Compiled.tar.gz
http://www.allt2.se/henrik_e/sw/JediOut ... nux.tar.gz

You need to install libxxf86vm-dev, libopenal-dev, libxrandr-dev and cmake to compile the sources.

To compile the sources create a new directory and cd to it. Then run:

Code: Select all

cmake -DRASPBERRY=ON path/to/source&&make
To run the game copy the "base"-folder from the official game to the folder where you compiled it.

The resolution is hard coded 800x450 for now. You can change this in the function GLW_SetMode in the file "code/linux/linux_glimp.cpp".
It should be trivial to add support for mode selection.

To get sound you need to enable use of openal in the config ~/.jk2/base/jk2config.cfg and ~/.jk3-ja/base/jaconfig.cfg.
The game will run even slower with sound.

It would be great if someone with more experience in 3d programming could look at the sources and see what can be optimized. You can probably get some tips from the Q3 and OpenArena.

Museste
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:58 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:05 pm

Hi Henrick

Thanks for putting this together. This is my first attempt using cmake and have been found wanting. Could you go into a little more detail on how to set up the directorys and files for it or point me to a good post.

Henrik42
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:04 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:05 am

Code: Select all

tar zxvf JediOutcastLinux-JediOutcastLinux.tar.gz
mkdir outcast_build
cd outcast_build/
cmake -DRASPBERRY=ON ../JediOutcastLinux-JediOutcastLinux
make
You can also put the build folder in JediOutcastLinux-JediOutcastLinux and run

Code: Select all

cmake -DRASPBERRY=ON ..
make

Museste
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:58 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:37 am

Cheers mate. Compiling is underway.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:55 am

Henrik42 wrote: I have not made any attempts at optimization and it runs rather slowly.
Any calls that require a response break the GL pipeline, and hurt performance.
Make sure there are no calls to glFinish, glGetError, eglGetError in main loop.
(Error checking should only be enabled for debug builds - make sure release builds disable it with a macro for example).

dan3008
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: Jedi Knight?

Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:32 am

I have this game for gamecube. GOT to try it on the pi when I get chance. Anyone want the list of cheat codes? lol
dan3008 wrote:Pays your money, takes your choice

romans8
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:43 am

Can't wait to try but my PI does not have internet access and i can't figure out how to install cmake on it without internet this will be awesome to get running can't wait to run MB2 on it! now if only GTK radiant would run on it...
Raspberry Pi model B rev 2 running Raspbian (8 GB sd) and a risc os (2GB sd)

Museste
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:58 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Jedi Knight?

Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:49 am

Finally got my hands on the CD. When I go to run it can't exceed autoconfig. Does that mean anything to anyone?

romans8
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Jedi Knight?

Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:28 pm

i got the game running, yes it lags quite a bit. we need to change some of the code so it will run more smoothly. :ugeek: also everything is white i don't know it this is because i didn't copy a file over or it is a shader or texture issue.
Can't wait for this to run nicely on the pi! :D
Raspberry Pi model B rev 2 running Raspbian (8 GB sd) and a risc os (2GB sd)

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests