goncalocg

p specializaroblem with retropie installation

Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:13 pm

hello everyone! I didn't know if I should post this here or in retropie page but tought that here there would be an ampler community to help...

I did the installation of RetroPie by the book , but after the 6 hours it took to install, it said that could not compile Neo geo, could not compile PC engine, and also DGNES and SNES...so what went wrong!?
it will not function right? and what can I do?

I'm a complete noob with everything and there's so many information, but everytime it's very specialized information, so it is very hard for me too keep up, but i'm an enthusiast...so thank you for you time and patience!

Obrigado

Aloshi

Re: p specializaroblem with retropie installation

Thu Apr 18, 2013 5:26 pm

There's a lot of reasons why a compile can fail: the most common one is probably "not enough RAM." How much RAM is allocated to the GPU in /boot/config.txt? Lower is better for compiling (though don't set it below 16 or so).

You can try to compile the emulators that failed again by only selecting the ones you want in the source-based installation menu. Use Space to select/deselect options, enter to accept. The emulators that compiled successfully will still be there from last time, so you don't need to compile them again!

goncalocg

Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:18 am

Hello Aloshi!

Thank you for your answer! I had tried to compiled them individually through /configure and /make like it says on installation notes in each emulator folder, but it didn't work...guess my compilations skills aren't the best...;)

I will try that and say something later about how it is running...I think I might have another doubt or two...

thanks!

goncalocg

Sat Apr 20, 2013 10:48 am

Hello!