LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:51 pm

No news about quake 1 source code release ? :D
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:05 pm

Sorry for the long delay.
pickle.gp2x.de/glquake-src.zip

Im interested in any feedback on the opengl calls, if anything might be impoved

jonte
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:35 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:32 am

Did you ever get around to release the source?

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:59 am

jonte wrote:Did you ever get around to release the source?
look at the post right before yours

jonte
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:35 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:09 am

*FEELING STUPID*

Chips
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:40 am

SilenceTheFallen wrote:It looks like (./glquake -nomtex -game id1) should do the trick. It tried to load but then it said "Playing Shareware version" "Error: You must have the registered version to use modified games."
At first i got same error as you, despite using shareware version which did work long time ago...
Then i downloaded source, recompile, and now it works :lol:
Anyway i removed the check in source and recompile so that next time i will not hit this error anymore:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/glquake

Perhaps my quake file which was stored on floppy disk has been corrupted after years of storage. :? ..

It works very well in 1080p resolution...

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:49 pm

Chips wrote: Then i downloaded source, recompile, and now it works :lol:
Anyway i removed the check in source and recompile so that next time i will not hit this error anymore:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/glquake
Hi,

Does it possible to have your modified source code ?

Thx ! :D
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

Chips
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:45 pm

The modification is simple to do and straightforward to find.
Anyway in common.c, modify the following:

if (h == -1)
{
#if WINDED
Sys_Error ("This dedicated server requires a full registered copy of Quake");
#endif
Con_Printf ("Playing shareware version.\n");
//if (com_modified)
// Sys_Error ("You must have the registered version to use modified games");

return;
}

Note that my wad should be corrupted anyway since the game crash quickly... i should find a valid wad instead of doing such things....

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:30 am

Thank you Chips for your tip ! :D
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:45 pm

Hi,

Do you know if it is possible to have quake 1 in windowed mode ?

Thx.
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:19 am

By example, I run this command :

Code: Select all

./glquake -nomtex -game id1-width 640 -height 480
But the game is always in fullscreen.
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

forgeflow
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:10 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:34 pm

For folks having trouble with the performance of this game, try the following:
cd to the id1 folder

Code: Select all

cd ~/quake/id1
create an autoexec.cfg file

Code: Select all

nano autoexec.cfg
add the following line to the file and save it out:

Code: Select all

r_shadows 0
This port has r_shadows set to 1 by default. Turning them off will get you a bit of a speed boost.
As for crackling sound, try the following:
make sure your 'firmware' is up to date by running:

Code: Select all

sudo rpi-update
Also play with the value '_snd_mixahead' in the config.cfg file (this is written out by the game automatically the first time it is run) - larger values than 0.1 may improve things somewhat. In my experience the stutter never fully goes away, and is worse in areas where enemies are active, which leads me to believe there is room for some more optimizations in the rendering code.

By default the game runs in 320 x 200 size. You can improve this a bit at the cost of some framerate by using the following command to start quake:

Code: Select all

./glquake -nomex -width 640 - height 400 -game id1{/code]

forgeflow
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:10 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:54 pm

Playing around with this a bit more, I can run glquake full screen on my machine with minimal slowdown by using the following command line:

Code: Select all

./glquake -nomtex -nosound -width 1280 -height 720 -game id1
It's the sound that causes the game to stutter and stall at various points -- running it with no sound has it running full speed all the time. My question: is this an sdl or alsa issue, do you think? I'm really a dummy when it comes to looking at source code, so I don't have the first clue.

Return to “Gaming”