Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

GLQuake-ES now available

Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:53 am

This is a straight port from the original glquake source, although it has been completely rewritten for opengles and sdl. This is the raspberry pi build.

pickle.gp2x.de/rpi/glquake

Useful Flags:
-width
-height
-fullscreen
-nomtex (dont use multitexture)
-mem (-mem 32)

Large overview of the changes other than typical opengles conversion:
Rewrite of texture managment.
Use driver mipmaping.
Converted textures to 565 and 5551 for lower memory and hopefully quicker sampling.
Combined as many draws into single commands, mainly by converting to indexed triangles.
Fixed any warnings from the original.

Im getting 25-30 fps in the demo on my 256 mb rpi, curious how the 512 does.
I suggest a 128/128 split for 256 users.

User avatar
felix3008
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:04 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:35 pm

I'm afraid i can't test it out, because i am missing the gfx.wad file.

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:19 pm

You can give the sharware pak's a try

User avatar
SilenceTheFallen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:15 am

I would love to give this a try, but i don't know how to install it.

I downloaded the file and it says its an executable but I dont know what to open it with.

I'm new to all this and so far all I have been using is Sudo apt-get install. Any help would be appreciated.

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:16 pm

put the glquake somewhere and then create an id1 folder with the *.pak files in it.

Rough commands to set it up (locations may vary):

Code: Select all

mkdir /home/pi/quake
cp glquake /home/pi/quake
mkdir /home/pi/quake/id1
cp *.pak /home/pi/quake/id1
cd /home/pi/quake
./glquake -nomtex

User avatar
SilenceTheFallen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:21 pm

Thanks for the quick reply Pickle. I did what you said but I'm still having trouble.

mkdir /home/pi/quake
cp glquake /home/pi/quake
mkdir /home/pi/quake/id1
cp *.pak /home/pi/quake/id1
cd /home/pi/quake
All of the instructions above worked fine. I have a home/pi/quake folder with the glquake executable file. I also have the id1 folder in the home/pi/quake directory and in that folder are two files I copied off my Quake CD (Pak0.PAK and Pak1.PAK).

I am not sure what this last command does(./glquake -nomtex), but when I run it, it tells me (bash: ./glquake: Permission denied). I made sure to type the cd command so the terminal directory was [email protected] ~/quake $ before typing ./glquake -nomtex.

Any ideas?

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:25 pm

try chmod +x glquake

User avatar
SilenceTheFallen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:03 pm

Okay. So I typed chmod +x glquake and then ./glquake -nomtex and it acted like it wanted to work. But then said Error: W_Loadwadfile: Couldn't load gfx.wad.

Isn't the gfx.wad in the two Pak files in the id1 directory or did I do something wrong?

I really do appreciate the help. As I said, I am completely new to Linux, but I'm trying.

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:08 pm

Are using shareware or commercial data?
Did you put the data in a id1 folder?
You could try ./glquake -nomtex -game id1

User avatar
SilenceTheFallen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:43 pm

It looks like (./glquake -nomtex -game id1) should do the trick. It tried to load but then it said "Playing Shareware version" "Error: You must have the registered version to use modified games."

The Quake disc that i am using is a copy my friend made of his years ago. I don't think its shareware as as I remember playing through several episodes back in the day. Shareware is just one right?

Oh, well. Either way looks like its time to order a legit disc of Ebay and then hopefully I can get it running on the RasPI.

Thanks for all the help Pickle. I have learned a little bit looking up the commands that you listed and reading about what they do.

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:48 pm

you can buy it off steam or as a direct download from id store.

CodenameV
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:42 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:55 pm

Just in case people have the gfx.wad missing I noticed that the pak files within the id1 folder need to be lowercase otherwise you'll get this error

ugoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:43 am

Re: GLQuake-ES

Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:18 am

I have a 512MB Pi and I tried this out. At 1280x1024 with the memsize set to 384 and -nomemtex set, I was getting an average of about 30fps. I can't find a reliable way to measure the framerate... Anyway, it seemed to run much higher than that when there weren't many or any enemy models on the screen, or when there weren't any explosions. It dropped quite low during a fight with a shambler in one of the demos, though.

Under water, the rate seemed to be sub-30, maybe sitting around 20-25.

So, I thought a different test would be fun. I ran Team Fortress with the same settings. The opening demo seemed to run at full speed.

There is something up with the shadows, though. It's like they're not always oriented to the ground. You'll see shadows fly around when grenades are launched.

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:59 pm

thanks for trying it. Ok, so the 512mb is basically the same gpu (soc) then. I thought they may have updated it.

you shouldn't need to set memsize more than 64 mb

I need to run some tests but i think vsync is on (I set it on through EGL), thats why its measuring around 30 fps. Might jump into the 40's without it on, if its on.

I added stencil checks on the shadows which smooths out the color. I also have seen the grenade shadows on walls, but fixing that might be beyond my knowledge. If it bugs you can turn shadows off in the config file.

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES

Sun Apr 07, 2013 11:31 am

Hi,

I would to know if is it possible to have the source code of this quake opengl-es version ?

Thx !! :D
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:16 pm

Yes everyone will have access to the source, though i debating if I should do a straight zip of it or use public source control for it.

6677
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES

Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:19 pm

Can always zip it for now and then consider a proper repo later

Vanfanel
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:33 pm

@Pickle: github offers the ability to zip a given branch contents automatically, so you can offer things at the same time without any additional effort if you use it :)

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:37 pm

yeah im aware of github and that feature, its not important to me that there is a zip option. What i meant basically is that a zip is quick and dirty, source control would that more time.

Sktea1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:31 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:35 am

I was excited to see this! I downloaded the modified glquake on my Model B running Raspbian, but glquake doesn't run and doesn't throw any errors at all - with parameters or without, it just stops. Tried running it with and without sudo, no difference. Any ideas?

Pickle
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:50 pm

Do you get any output over the console?
What is your memory slice set to? I would suggest trying 128/128

Sktea1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:31 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:48 pm

Do you get any output over the console? What is your memory slice set to? I would suggest trying 128/128
No console output whatsoever - very strange.

My split is still at the default: I hadn't changed it as you advised above. I'll try that tonight.

Tirpitz
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:18 pm

I made a test on my RasPi Model B 256 MB in Raspbian and I occured something very interesting.
If I start the game without -nomtex, sound is good but the game unplayable.
If I start the game with -nomtex, game is playable but sound is full of cracks. In console I found this error message:

Code: Select all

ALSA lib pcm.c:7339:(snd_pcm_recover) underrun occurred
I would also welcome feature playing in window.

Sktea1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:31 am

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:47 am

No change after fiddling here. No errors, no logged messages.

EdwinJ85
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: GLQuake-ES now available

Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:50 am

This is awesome, thank you.

I guess now I have an excuse to buy yet ANOTHER pi as mine at the moment is running a minecraft server...
Hello!

Return to “Gaming”