Atari to USB Driver

68 posts   Page 1 of 3   1, 2, 3
by drumminhands » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:30 pm
I could use a little help. I'm new to both the Raspberry Pi and to Linux. I have the Pi running Stela with no problems. I purchased a USB device to allow me to plug in the original Atari controllers http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007ZS35CU/. I like this one because it uses one USB port for two controllers.

But the driver for the device has some issues. Someone wrote a fix for the drivers here: https://github.com/robmcmullen/hid-atari-retrobit. However, it will not load in Debian/Raspbian. Check my link here for the errors: http://www.flickr.com/photos/drumminhan ... hotostream

I'm looking for some advice. Could I find the missing kernels and load them into the Raspberry Pi, or do I need to figure out how to port code on github to work on what the Raspberry PI already has?

Thanks.
by obcd » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:23 am
It looks like it needs /lib/modules/3.6.11+/build
I think this is generated when you build the kernel.
I noticed you can also run make depend. It also has something to do with dependencies. Not sure how.
There are tutorials that describe how to rebuild the Pi Kernel. Some say it takes hours if you do it on the Pi itself and recommend cross compiling on a x86 linux setup.
by saberman » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:53 pm
A different way around the problem would be to build a GPIO interface for the joysticks and use something like the GPIO keyboard driver in this thread:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=29962

Assuming you just need up, down, left, right and fire for 2 joysticks there are enough pins for you to build a 2 input GPIO adaptor.
by drumminhands » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:02 pm
saberman, I have seen that post too. I think that I want to explore this route first. I'd like to be able to use the hardware if possible.