tacgnol
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:05 am

(solved) cannot run anything with box86

Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:09 am

Hello guys,

I installed box86 as specified on the github page, installed it with sudo make install,

now, when I try to run a game, I always get the same error ...

pi@retropie:~/Desktop/papers-please $ box86 PapersPlease
Dynarec for ARM, with extension: HALF FAST_MULT EDSP NEON VFPv4 IDIVA PageSize:4096
Using default BOX86_LD_LIBRARY_PATH: ./:lib/:lib32/:x86/
Using default BOX86_PATH: ./:bin/
Counted 26 Env var
Looking for PapersPlease
Error: ./PapersPlease is not an executable file

pi@retropie:~/shovelknight $ box86 shovelknight
Dynarec for ARM, with extension: HALF FAST_MULT EDSP NEON VFPv4 IDIVA PageSize:4096
Using default BOX86_LD_LIBRARY_PATH: ./:lib/:lib32/:x86/
Using default BOX86_PATH: ./:bin/
Counted 26 Env var
Looking for shovelknight
Error: ./shovelknight is not an executable file

Any idea what could be wrong ?
Last edited by tacgnol on Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

bfready
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: cannot run anything with box86

Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:33 am

Whenever I saw a certain game was "not an executable file." I was either running the x86 version or the 64 bit variant of the game.
Either way, it will not work.

If you type file [nameOfFileYouAreRunning] (e.g. file ./PapersPlease), it will tell you if it's 32 or 64 bit.

MamiyaOtaru
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:42 am

Re: cannot run anything with box86

Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:07 am

of course he's trying to run x86 binaries, that's the whole point of box86. It can and does work, I'm running Unreal Tournament '99 on my pi

ptitSeb
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: cannot run anything with box86

Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:33 pm

Once you have made "sudo make install", you need to reboot 1 time.
After that, you can just launch your file without using" box86", so simply "./PaperPlease" should start it.

There can be 2 cases in your error: the file is an x86_64 binary or the file is a shel script (I thinks it's the second case). So just launch the file, don't mind "box86", it will launch automagical..

tacgnol
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:05 am

Re: cannot run anything with box86

Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:40 am

I started from scratch using a fully updated image .... and it working 1st try hehe


I guess my old setup was messed up or whatever.


sorry about that !

Return to “Gaming”