Page 2 of 2

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:04 pm
by fa001
I tried the hdmi_drive=2 in the config.txt file but still cannot get sound out the analog port when using the hdmi to vga cable.
The analog port does work with the OpenElec image so I believe that it is possible. There must be some other config file / setting that I am missing.

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:33 pm
by SSilver2k2
I'm currently working on PiMAME 0.4

I'm hoping to include gamepad/xbox360 controller support, a change to also show wifi ip, and fixing the rom upload 2MB limit.

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:06 am
by malakai
Jessie wrote:I played:
Donkey Kong (96%)
Final Fight (65%)
Black Tiger (120%)

Percentage indicate how well they run. I am getting no audio. Also I can't get larger roms to upload through the web interface. I'm guessing that there is a script timing out somewhere. Also where are the config files for advmame?

Anyway, good work its better than I could have done.
Haven't looked at that but if it's using php, apache or the like they have a default filesize upload limit might look there. What size file was it

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:00 pm
by kevkaos
fa001 wrote:I tried the hdmi_drive=2 in the config.txt file but still cannot get sound out the analog port when using the hdmi to vga cable.
The analog port does work with the OpenElec image so I believe that it is possible. There must be some other config file / setting that I am missing.
try
hdmi_drive=1
also have a look here
http://elinux.org/RPiconfig

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:51 am
by fa001
Tried hdmi_drive=1 setting. No sound.

I read the edid settings that the system was getting from the monitor and they indicated that the monitor had audio even though I am using a hdmi to vga cable that does not have audio. So I tried the ignore edid setting but that did not work either.

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:28 pm
by fa001
I got sound working through the analog jack!
Searching around this forum for more info on alsa found this,
By default output will be automatic (hdmi id hdmi supports audio, otherwise analog). You can force it with:
sudo amixer cset numid=3 <n>

where n is 0=auto, 1=headphones, 2=hdmi
So I exited advmenu to the command line and issued the following command:
sudo amixer cset numid=1

That gave me sound through the analog jack. And it held after reboot!

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:08 am
by SSilver2k2
Hey all,

So I'm asking for help from the community to make the next versions of PiMAME even better. Please PM me, email me, send me a contact form message, or just reply here if you would like to help.

Looking forward to releasing the next version!

-Shea

Re: AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image insid

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:33 pm
by SSilver2k2
Hey All,

I am pleased to announce PiMAME 0.4 is now available for download at http://blog.sheasilverman.com/pimame-ra ... -download/

PiMAME is now built around the 2012-12-16 version of Raspbian.
AdvanceMAME 1.2 and AdvanceMENU 2.6 are installed.
PulseAudio has been removed.
Snapshots of supported games are loaded and will appear in AdvanceMENU.
The ROM uploader file size limit has been increased from 2MB to 200MB.

I recommend users exit out of AdvanceMENU at some point and run:

sudo raspi-config

Overclocking the Pi from raspi-config greatly increases the performance of AdvanceMAME. You are also able to expand the filesystem to fill up the rest of your SD Card.

I am looking forward to all questions, comments, and suggestions!

Enjoy!