Gibley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 am

Dosbox in fullscreen

Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:30 am

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the Raspberry Pi, I've been attempting to run dosbox and its mostly gone smoothly.

However, what I really want is to be fullscreen, but in 4:3 ratio. I'm playing through a widescreen TV and would rather have black bars either side than a stretched image.

I can't figure out a good way to make this happen - my various tinkerings with settings give either a stretched image (whether aspect=true or false in dosbox.conf), or a small 4:3 image in the in middle of the screen.

So I'd appreciate any advice on what settings I should use. Not sure if at this stage I should be adjusting dosbox's configuration, or the Pi's own resolution settings. I guess I could just force the thing to boot into a 4:3 resolution? But that seems inelegant.

btw I'm not using retropie or anything like that, just running dosbox from the Raspbian desktop,.


Gibley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 am

Re: Dosbox in fullscreen

Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:09 pm

Well, sometimes we look so hard for complex solutions that we miss the obvious. My TV was forcing all input, whatever aspect ratio, to widescreen. So I just had to toggle it to 4:3.

Andyroo

Re: Dosbox in fullscreen

Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:26 pm

:oops: - true IT solutions often come with learning experiences :lol:

Ger_Pa
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dosbox in fullscreen

Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:35 pm

About the link that second poster, gave us.

"[sdl]
fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1366x768
windowresolution=1366x768
output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true"

fullresolution should be set to "original" instead of 1366x768. That resolution is most likely the native resolution or the resolution of whoever posted that...
For example if the monitor you are using with the PI, is only 1280x720 and try to run with that config, Dosbox will simple close, because the resolution will be out of range

Return to “Gaming”