spsn

Not Minecraft, but Blocky

Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:58 pm

My 10 yr old loves Minecraft because it lets him express his creativity by building all kinds of things and trying out mods etc. But what he really wishes to do is to make his own mods. Since that is a bit difficult to do right now, the two of us have embarked on an adventure to write our own little blocky world game where we can put in the things we like and change things to see what happens. Like using a FOV of 180 and ending up with an upside down world, or reversing gravity and flying up into the sky instead of falling to the ground. Many a laugh have been had by us both.

And he is learning how to program in JAVA. And I am learning about 3D graphics which I have never done before.

We have a version of it that runs on the RasPi if you would like to see. This is more a demonstration that this kind of game can be made to work inside the constraints of the RasPi, than anything else. I think there is hope for Minecraft proper yet. So far we have some basic gameplay elements in place; you can walk around, jump, place and remove blocks, and the torches sort of work when you place them inside a dark area you have dug out. Apart from the normal keys, keys 1 and 2 cycle through the list of blocks to place.

Get it here: http://www.4shared.com/file/ttQBdcb3/blocky.html

spsn

Re: Not Minecraft, but Blocky

Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:40 pm

In my excitement I left out some important info.

Blocky uses armhf LWJGL libraries so you will need an armhf distro like Raspbian to run it on. It also needs JAVA OpenJDK installed. Zero will do fine but jamvm is a bit faster, so you may prefer that. There are 2 scripts to run Blocky; ./blocky for Zero and ./blocky-jamvm for jamvm.

The GPU needs 128MB ram and you need to start X first for Blocky to run. I have not yet been able to make a version of LWJGL that runs without X.