juppiter89
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:29 pm

Mmm... maybe you need also libsdl library

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev
And if you use HDMI make sure you have 'hdmi_drive=2' in /boot/config.txt.

6677
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:58 pm

SnakeSnoke wrote:It works! :-)
Just sound is not working. Any more tips?
Never worked that one out myself. My dads TV absolutely will not play audio for baseq3 over HDMI, but its fine for baseoa. My TV at home is fine.

User avatar
gdw35
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:46 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:29 am

I have been able to build Quake successfully and it runs great. The problem is that there is no sound. I have followed most of the help tips I can find to get the sound working but none appear to work. I am using HDMI audio and doing some testing with other applications shows that for anything using the alsa drivers audio is working fine but anything that uses the pulse audio drivers is silent.

Are there any config tools or settings that I should be looking at for the pulse audio drivers that could resolve my problem?

User avatar
gdw35
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:46 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:04 am

Problem solved!!!

I removed pulseaudio from the system and it all started working. Now enjoying Quake with the sound up.

Very happy. :D :D :D

Gurkan
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:21 am

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:24 am

Any chance there will be a full version of Q3 for the pi instead of just a demo?

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5018
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:11 am

Gurkan wrote:Any chance there will be a full version of Q3 for the pi instead of just a demo?
Of course, just provide the data from your legally obtained quake 3 install.

6677
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:19 pm

This is just the engine. It will run any id tech 3 compatible content including that from your original quake 3 CD or the steam version. I personally use it to play open arena.

User avatar
Davespice
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1661
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:44 am

gdw35 wrote:Problem solved!!!

I removed pulseaudio from the system and it all started working. Now enjoying Quake with the sound up.

Very happy. :D :D :D
Well done old chap. I have been trying to get the sound working for a while. Pulse Audio is a daemon isn't it? I wonder if it would work if you just shut down the daemon without having to remove it entirely? That way you could have a bash script to shut down the demon, run the game, and restart the daemon.

Sassinak
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:38 pm

Hmmm, the PK3 packages are "wrong", esp. PK0
any other source ?

6677
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:23 pm

Sassinak wrote:Hmmm, the PK3 packages are "wrong", esp. PK0
any other source ?
They work fine for me. Are they in the right folder?

Otherwise the files from openarena also work absolutely fine.

Sassinak
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:45 pm

Yes they are, they're not corrupt or anything, just that when I start the game I get a warning that pk0(?) is not the size "expected..."
You say I can use files from openarena? Same packaging ? or do I rename the zips to *.pk3 ?

dextrus
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:10 pm
Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire
Contact: Website

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:25 am

It's good that you worry about this. I did at first. But then the original file was from 1999 the engine we're reading it from is much later that... Maybe the IoQuake version just defaults to "false"? I haven't checked. As long as it works and we have legitimate data, be happy.

Are there any Pi only quake servers? I'm not suggesting running the server on a Pi, but has anyone set up one for us Pi owners? I might.. But I suspect if anyone did and mentioned it, it would get swamped.

/Dextrus
Have more FUN with your Pi. Visit www.pi-fun.com

Sassinak
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:47 am

If only it started ! But no, it's not just a warning, it's a fail. I haven't played around with it in 2 days, I will give better information on just what the message is.
Meanwhile, OMXPlayer leaves a background and is uncontrollable from the keyboard - except ^C - been working on that too !

6677
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:04 pm

there are no zips in open arena or q3.
You have made sure you extracted the archive in the first place right?

kevintmckay
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:52 am
Location: berkeley california
Contact: Website

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:35 pm

Works great, thanks... BTW where do you do your memory GPU split to get best performance?

Yamahanytro
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:37 am

I went through and made sure I did everything right but when I run

Code: Select all

sudo ./ioquake3.arm
I get the error

Code: Select all

vchiq_lib: Incompatible VCHIQ library - driver version 5 (min 3), library version 2 (min 2)
* failed to open vchiq instance
I ran

Code: Select all

apt-get update && apt-get upgrade
and it says I have no updates. Please help. I don't believe I messed up anywhere along the way.

Jamulisprime
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:21 pm

I got the game to install, and boot up, but when i try to play it crashes, from the text it says its unable to find sound files. got it to play finally, sounds pops and cracks, game lags then it crashes.

User avatar
QBall1977
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:18 am

Dear All,

From what I've read you need the updated version of this that will run with the latest Raspbian. I think I'm coming to the conclusion that it is better to often (roll your own) than download the image. The Hexxeh image no longer seems in place anyway. :roll:

If you get the VCHQ error it is as you are running the old version. Building it myself now! SSH is a wonderful thing. :D

Just trying to get this right so I can use it as an example with Kids. Anyone got this working with a PS3 pad? I've easily configured Wii-mote, and Xbox pad, but for the holy trinity I need the PS3 pad! Note to all those trying only OFFICIAL GENUINE PS3 pads seem to work via bluetooth, tried it with several others, but they fail to connect! :evil:
____________________________________________
Looking for where to start - try Kernel Panic - http://goo.gl/EEQ5J

User avatar
theoB610
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:40 pm
Location: Devon

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:22 pm

How big is the install? will it eat up my memory?

User avatar
QBall1977
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Wed May 01, 2013 10:25 pm

Quick question, not sure if in the right section, but does anyone know how to change the size of the console (~) while playing quake 3. On the projector when demo-ing to kids via HDMI the text is teeny tiny and very very hard to read. I had a look through all the Quake 3 commands I could find, but nothing obvious. Please, anyone got any tips?

Game runs great, I recommend removing pulseaudio as recommended and install the DispManx SDL drivers for improved performance. :D
____________________________________________
Looking for where to start - try Kernel Panic - http://goo.gl/EEQ5J

Museste
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:58 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:09 am

Hi

I think theres a little confusion where the pak files need to go. I unzipped them into quake3/baseq3 and it didnt work. I then tried quake3/build/release-linux-arm/baseq3 then all was sweet.

User avatar
theoB610
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:40 pm
Location: Devon

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:31 am

I'm having problems exiting quake (not that you'd ever want to).
It seems to get stuck on the last page of the credits.

User avatar
mrpi64
Posts: 931
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Fri Aug 09, 2013 10:22 am

It doesn't work for me! Can someone plz upload a pre-compiled version for the Pi to somewhere like dropbox? Thanks.
I'm happy to help.
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=51794 - List of games that work on the Pi.


User avatar
mrpi64
Posts: 931
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: How to install/ build/ play Quake 3....

Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:09 pm

Ok, it works now. Any mods that I can use?
I'm happy to help.
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=51794 - List of games that work on the Pi.

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests